It depends on state laws if your car can be impounded if you fail to show valid proof of insurance. There are several states that will impound your vehicle and make you responsible for the fees to pick it up, including storage fees if you wait to pick up the vehicle.
State laws differ for their penalties regarding the charge of driving without insurance however it is never advisable to drive even one day without the proper auto insurance on your vehicle since if you were to be in an accident you would be help personally responsible for the damages you caused.
Here are a few examples of states whose penalties for driving without insurance can include impoundment of your vehicle.
In Ohio, it is illegal to drive a car without insurance or any form of Financial Responsibility (FR) on the vehicle that is accepted by the state. It is also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner's car with FR proof. If you are caught driving without financial responsibility (insurance) in OH, the penalties can include: suspension of driver's license for a minimum of 90 days and up to 2 years, impoundment of your license plates and/or automobile plus fines and court costs.
If you are involved in a crash without insurance, or other FR coverage, in Ohio additional penalties may apply. You may have a security suspension of your license for 2 years or more and a judgment suspension for an indefinite period, until damages are paid.
In Pennsylvania they normally suspend your car's registration and your driver's license if you are caught driving without insurance. Beyond these penalties for not having insurance on your vehicle if you are stopped and cited for driving without insurance your car might be impounded and fines will likely be charged.
In California failing to show proof of financial responsibility, meaning insurance coverage, is a violation of California Vehicle Code Section 16029. Violating this code could result in fines up to $500 plus penalties, impoundment of the vehicle and suspension of the driver's license. If the vehicle is impounded the owner will have to pay for all storage and tow charges as well.
A state without impoundment as a penalty but still harsh penalties for being uninsured is West Virginia. Penalties in WV can include suspension of your vehicle registration and drivers license as well as criminal penalties that could result from a conviction in magistrate court. Criminal penalties for driving without insurance can include fines of between $250 and $5000 and jail time of between 15 days and 1 year or both.
The penalty for driving without insurance varies from state to state. In some states, your vehicle tag can be seized and your car impounded. Most states impose heavy fines for those who drive without auto insurance. Other states fine uninsured motorist as well as can give you jail time and suspend your driving and registration.
If you are insured then you need to make sure that you have proper proof of valid insurance in your vehicle at all times. Proof of insurance is normally shown by providing a valid insurance card to law enforcement.
If you are currently uninsured then getting insurance can be as easy as getting a quote with us online and then purchasing your policy immediately online as well.