Michigan requires no-fault insurance so that every registered car must be insured. It is a misdemeanor to drive your car or let your car be driven without basic no-fault auto coverage. If you are convicted of driving without the mandatory MI car insurance, you may be fined up to $500, put in jail for a year or both.
If you are unable to provide proof of insurance, thus driving without insurance, you may be found guilty of a civil infraction. The court may order your license suspended for 30 days or until you can show proof of no-fault coverage on your vehicle.
You may be required to purchase a pre-paid non-cancelable insurance policy before you can renew your vehicle's registration. To get the auto insurance coverage that you need in Michigan, start here by getting a car insurance quotation.
More articles from Penny Gusner