Here is some basic information regarding driver's license in Virginia. In VA your driver's license normally expires on your birthday and will expire when you reach an age that is divisible by five - 20, 25, 30, 35, etc. When you renew your license, it normally will be valid for five years according to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
One may renew their driver's license as early as two years prior to the expiration date on your license. If you are under age 21 and you have received one or more traffic convictions, you must retake the two-part knowledge exam and any other knowledge exams for the type of license you hold according to the VA DMV.
In VA if your license has expired for more than one year, you must re-take all tests (vision screening, two-part knowledge exam, and road skills test).
It appears that driving with an expired license in Virginia would fall under the category of driving without a license in Virginia. VA Motor Vehicle law section 46.2-300 lists the penalties for driving without a license. Here it states that a violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor. In Virginia for Class 2 misdemeanors the penalty can be confinement in jail for up to six months and a fine of up to $1,000, either or both.
In July 2007 VA has added new civil remedial fees which had listed a fee of $250 for 3 years for an expired license violation. However in March 2008 the Governor of Virginia signed legislation passed by the Virginia legislature its 2008 Regular Session which repeals these "civil remedial fees" created in 2007.
Civil remedial fees were often called "abusive driver fees." This repeal means that civil remedial fees in Virginia have been eliminated. Civil remedial fees are no longer being assessed. The unpaid civil remedial fees will be considered satisfied. Payments made for a civil remedial fee will be refunded. So this is good news in that this extra fine/fee will not be assessed.
Some states and jurisdictions allow a person that has been cited with driving with an expired driver's license to renew their license and get their fine reduced or the ticket dismissed. If you were cited for driving with an expired license you should contact the court listed on the ticket to find out if this is an option and also what specifically the court says penalties will be in the jurisdiction you were cited in for driving with an expired license.
If you are able to get your license renewed and are shopping for car insurance, follow this link for inexpensive car insurance for Virginia.
More articles from Penny Gusner