The consequences of being involved in a hit-and-run accident in Connecticut vary. The penalties are laid out in the “Evading responsibility Connecticut statute,” Connecticut laws. These laws explain that evading responsibility in an accident that causes someone else’s death can result in up to 20 years in prison and up to a $20,000 fine.
Along with that, comes the suspension of your driver’s license for one year.
In Connecticut, is evading responsibility a felony or a misdemeanor?
Evasion of responsibility, also known as a hit-and-run, occurs when a driver who hits another vehicle, a person, or someone else’s property leaves the scene of the accident instead of staying to provide information and help at the scene and filing a police report.
When you are involved in an accident, you are expected to stay at the scene, provide assistance and give identifying information, such as your name and registration to someone there, whether that’s a police officer, a witness or a property owner.
What are the penalties for evading responsibility in Connecticut?
The level of charges and penalties resulting from a hit-and-run, or evasion of responsibility, depends on the amount of physical injury in the accident. CT Statute 14-224 clarifies the consequences for evading responsibility when driving in Connecticut.
For example, when you cause someone else’s death or cause serious physical injury to someone else and leave the scene of the accident, you could be charged up to $20,000 and face up to 20 years in prison. This level of offense is considered a felony offense.
Someone who causes physical injury to another person but not serious physical injury and leaves the scene of an accident may be fined up to $600 and face up to five years in prison. This is also considered a felony offense.
There are also consequences for leaving the scene of an accident when the accident results solely in property damage. According to Connecticut statutes, a person can be fined up to $600 and be imprisoned for up to a year. This is considered a misdemeanor offense since it did not result in bodily harm to anyone else.
In addition to these penalties, a person found guilty of a felony hit-and-run will have their license suspended for a year. Loss of license for a misdemeanor hit-and-run is much shorter, at just 90 days.
Allan F. Friedman, Criminal Lawyer. “Connecticut General Statutes §14-224 – Evading Responsibility.” Accessed December 2022
General Statutes of Connecticut. “Chapter 248: Vehicle Highway Use.” Accessed December 2022.
The Law Offices of Mark Sherman. “Connecticut Hit and Run Penalties.” Accessed December 2022.
— Prachi Singh and Michelle Megna contributed to this story