- What does a vehicle inspection sticker in New York state mean?
- Why is vehicle inspection important in New york?
- How often do you need a vehicle inspection?
- What if your vehicle failed inspection?
- Can you drive with an expired inspection ticket in NY?
- What are the penalties for having an expired inspection ticket in NY?
- What happens If you have a false sticker?
- What is a Parking ticket in NY?
In New York, the inspection sticker is a part of the inspection process conducted at an inspection station and is necessary for safety reasons. Driving with an expired inspection sticker or not having an inspection sticker at all is a serious offense and can result in a fine between $50 and $100.
If you’ve been pulled over for driving without an inspection sticker, be prepared for penalties imposed by the officer plus any additional fees. Keep reading this guide to get more information on car inspection NYC.
- You are required to have your vehicle inspected every 12 months in New York.
- If your vehicle fails the safety inspection it should be repaired or re-inspected to receive an inspection sticker NY.
- You can also receive a parking ticket for not having the required New York state inspection sticker on your car.
- Driving without an inspection sticker is a serious offense, and can result in a fine between $50 and $100.
What does a vehicle inspection sticker in New York state mean?
In New York, it is required by state and DMV rules that all motor vehicles more than two model years old but less than 25 years old undergo safety and emissions inspection. After the vehicle passes the safety inspection they are given an inspection sticker in NY. The owner must display this sticker on their vehicle with the expiration date punched on the front of the sticker.
Why is vehicle inspection important in New york?
All vehicles registered in New York State must get a safety inspection and an emissions inspection every 12 months. Both inspections are also required when the ownership of a vehicle is transferred. Both inspections are done at the same time by a DMV-certified inspector at privately-owned inspection stations licensed by DMV.
The DMV licensed inspection station electronically sends a record of all emissions inspections to the DMV. The DMV must have a record that your vehicle passed an emissions inspection during the previous year or you will not be able to renew your motor vehicle registration.
How often do you need a vehicle inspection?
It is mandatory for all the vehicles registered in the New York state to get a safety inspection done at any DMV licensed inspection station
- every 12 months
- when you transfer the ownership of your motor vehicle
You need to make sure you have a valid NY inspection sticker displayed on your motor vehicle. The inspection sticker has an expiration date, which is the last day of the month that was punched on the sticker.
What if your vehicle failed inspection?
If your vehicle fails the safety and emissions inspection, you should get your motor vehicle inspected again to receive an inspection sticker. But the inspection station will require your consent before they begin the re-inspection.
There is no obligation to take your motor vehicle for repairs to the station that carried out the initial inspection after your car fails inspection. You can have your motor vehicle repaired or re-inspected at any licensed repair shop or you can do the necessary repairs yourself. And before you get an inspection sticker, your vehicle must pass a new inspection at the inspection station you chose.
Can you drive with an expired inspection ticket in NY?
No. In New York, drivers driving with an expired inspection ticket may face fines and suspension of their car insurance. As such, it is important to check your inspection date regularly and ensure that it is kept up to date. Always ensure that your car has a valid inspection ticket and relevant car insurance at all times.
What are the penalties for having an expired inspection ticket in NY?
The fine for an expired inspection sticker in the state of New York depends on how long the sticker has been expired.
- If the inspection sticker has expired in the past 60 days, the owner can receive a fine of $25 to $50.
- If the inspection sticker is expired more than 60 days, the fine is between $50 and $100.
- If there is no inspection sticker, the fine is between $50 and $100
In all cases, the state adds a mandatory state surcharge of $88 ($93 in town and village courts).
Once you are ticketed for the expired inspection sticker, you’re basically being warned to get a new inspection sticker or to continue to be ticketed for driving without one or parking on public streets if you do not.
What happens If you have a false sticker?
It is illegal and against the law to have fictitious inspection stickers displayed on your vehicle. And if you’re caught with a false inspection sticker on your motor vehicle, you are subject to a fine of $300, an $85 surcharge, and perhaps 30 days in jail under V&T Law section 306-f.
What is a Parking ticket in NY?
In New York state, you can also receive an expired inspection parking ticket for having an expired inspection sticker. You can avoid an expensive parking ticket by getting your current inspection sticker updated and paying the fine immediately.
Failure to do so will result in more parking tickets and you may be subject to additional fines and late fees if you don’t pay the parking ticket.
Related Articles & Guides
- Can you insure a car without a license in New York state?
- Can you drive alone with your driver’s permit in New York state?
- What is the penalty for being caught having a fake New York state driver’s license?
- How long do moving violations remain on your record in New York?
- How long does an accident stay on your record in New York state?