State laws differ on whether non-moving violations even go on your driving record. If they are put on your motor vehicle record (MVR) then typically, the non-moving violations will stay on it for the same amount of time as a moving violation. For example, Florida‘s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) notes that non-moving violations generally do not result in points on your license but will usually appear on your record since they are adjudicated.
In Texas, moving violations appear on a Type 2 driver record for a period of 3 years only. All moving and non-moving violations appear on a Type 3 driver record for a period of 15 years, with the exception of serious offenses.
Nevada DMV notes that cases that are dismissed or reduced to non-moving violations are not reported.
In Ohio, non-moving violations, such as not renewing your registration on time, may result in a ticket and a fine but will not result in points being assessed against you and will not show up on your OH MVR.
To find out if your state places non-moving violations on your driving record, contact your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles. The DMV can also tell you how long a non-moving violation would stay on your record once placed there.
Get a low-cost car insurance quote here with us.
— Michelle Megna contributed to this story.
Resources & Methodology
FLHSMV. “Questions about driving records.” Accessed January 2023