In New York a ticket for disobeying the speed limit by 11 to 20 mph over the posted speed is worth 4 points on your NYS driver's license.
In New York points are counted from the date of your traffic violation, not from the dates of your traffic convictions. A traffic conviction is required for the points to appear on your driver record. 18 months after the date of the violation, the points for that violation are removed from your point total. Moving violation convictions normally remain on a NYS driver record during the year that the conviction occurred and for the following three (3) calendar years.
The NYS DMV states one should follow the instructions on the traffic ticket. For the fine amount you will need to contact the court listed on your ticket.
The New York State Department Driver's Manual states that you can reduce your point total by up to four points and save up to ten percent on your auto liability and collision insurance premiums by taking a DMV-approved "Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course."
Completion of a point reduction course however cannot prevent a mandatory suspension or revocation or be applied as a credit against future points, or prevent or reduce a Driver Responsibility Assessment by the DMV.
For more information, see the NYS DMV publication Point and Insurance Reduction, available from the DMV Internet Office, by request from a DMV Call Center, and at any motor vehicle office.
Keep in mind that insurance companies have point systems of their own. These have no relationship to, and should not be confused with, the DMV point system. So to see how this speeding citation will affect your insurance rates you will need to check with your insurance carrier about their specific rating system and if a speeding conviction will raise your premium.
If your rates do go up you may want to see if taking the aforementioned driving course will help. Or you may decide to shop around for auto insurance quotes with other carriers to see if you can get a better rate.