Yes, normally if you have been convicted of driving without insurance in Texas for a second time your license will be suspended and to reinstate it you will be required to obtain and carry a SR-22 for 2 years after your conviction date.
Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to be able to pay for any automobile accidents they cause. Most drivers do this by buying automobile liability insurance. Section 601 of the Texas Transportation code is titled the Motor Vehicle Responsibility Act and it discusses the financial responsibility drivers in TX should have and penalties for not doing so.
The requirement of financial responsibility is listed in chapter subsection 601.051. Here it states that a person may not operate a motor vehicle in this state unless financial responsibility is established for that vehicle through:
- a motor vehicle liability insurance policy
- a surety bond filed under Section 601.121;
- a deposit under Section 601.122;
- a deposit under Section 601.123; or
- self-insurance under Section 601.124.
Most people choose to obtain financial responsibility for their vehicle with the first choice, an auto insurance liability policy. If you chose this method then Texas law requires minimum coverage 25/50/25. These limits became affect as of April 1, 2008, and stand for $25,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.
There are severe legal penalties for violating the state's financial responsibility laws. A first conviction will result in a fine between $175 and $350. Subsequent convictions could result in fines of $350 to $1,000, suspension of your driver's license, registration and impoundment of your automobile.
In Texas if a person is convicted of a second or subsequent ticket for no liability insurance, the person is subject to license suspension according to TX Transportation Code 601.231.37, TX Administrative Code 25.19.
To reinstate your driver's license after a suspension due to driving without insurance a reinstatement fee will be due prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver's license and you will need to obtain proof of insurance (form SR-22) from your insurance company and submit it to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The SR22 will be required for 2 years from the date of conviction.
If the DPS informed you that an SR-22 is required then it will need to be filed by your insurer. An SR-22 insurance policy is a certificate of insurance that shows the Texas DPS proof of insurance for the future, as required by law. SR-22 insurance is motor vehicle liability insurance which requires the insurance company to certify coverage to DPS, and the insurance company must notify DPS anytime the policy is cancelled, terminated or lapses.
If the Texas DPS receives notice that a person has cancelled their insurance while the requirement to maintain proof of insurance with DPS is still in effect, the driver is subject to suspension. Proof of insurance (form SR-22) must be maintained for two years from date of conviction. Texas Transportation Code 601.056 , 601.057, 37 Texas Administrative Code 25.6.