If you were cited for driving without a license in Wisconsin, the best way to find out the penalties is to contact the court listed on the ticket -- if the fine amount is not listed on there.
According to a clerk of the court office in Wisconsin, the dollar amount of a fine should be written on your ticket. This amount is actually a combination of a forfeiture fee and numerous surcharges and administrative fees.
At the time of your question we see on the Wisconsin fine schedule that a ticket for operating with license expired or without any license is a three point surcharge, which is estimated to be a $125.90 fine.
Here is also some information we have found in the Wisconsin Code regarding the laws surrounding driving without a license in Wisconsin.
Wisconsin Code Section 343.05 (3)(a) states that no person may operate a motor vehicle which is not a commercial motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the person possesses a valid operator's license issued to the person by the department which is not revoked, suspended, canceled or expired.
Penalties for being an unlicensed driver in Wisconsin are listed later in this section of law and include a fine of not more than $200 for the first offense. A person may be fined not more than $300 and imprisoned for not more than 30 days for the second offense occurring within three years. One may be fined not more than $500 and imprisoned for not more than six months for a third or subsequent offense occurring within three years.
Also, keep in mind that Wisconsin laws state that any person who, in the course of operating a motor vehicle which is not a commercial motor vehicle upon a highway in this state knowingly without a valid operator's license issued to the person by the department or knowingly with an operator's license that has been revoked, suspended, or canceled, causes damage to the property of another shall be required to forfeit $1,000. So if you were in an accident you would have harsher penalties, including higher fine amounts.
As we mentioned earlier, and the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (DOT) notes as well, operating without any license is three points on your driving record. Even if you do not have a license the state can start a driving record for you in Wisconsin and usually it will be based on your social security number.
To find out your specific penalty for driving without a license in Wisconsin, you need to contact the court listed on your ticket. The clerk of the court should be able to tell you the penalties surrounding your citation and if you must appear in court or not.
When you have a valid license let CarInsurance.com help you find the best car insurance for your situation. You'll need to comparison shop for car insurance due the offense of driving without a license will normally cause a lapse in insurance, if you ever had it before, which in turn will cause your rates to rise.