Question: In Louisiana, what does uninsured motorist insurance cover?
Answer: Louisiana law requires motorist to carry liability coverage on any automobile they own. This coverage pays for property damages or personal injury for which you may be legally responsible, up to your policy's dollar limits.
Louisiana state law requires minimum bodily injury liability limits of $15,000 per injured person up to a total of $30,000 per accident, and property damage liability coverage with a minimum limit of $25,000. This basic coverage is often referred to as 15/30/25 coverage.
Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000/$30,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability: $25,000 Limit
*Effective January 1, 2010
Beyond the mandatory liability auto insurance that LA law requires, there are optional coverages such as uninsured motorist coverage that a driver may want to also purchase. Louisiana allows both Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UM) and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD) to be added on as additional types of car insurance.
According to the Louisiana Department of Insurance, Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage covers and pays benefits to you if your car is hit by a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to pay for the full amount of your injuries. Any bodily injury you or an occupant of your vehicle suffers due to an accident caused by another driver is covered under this policy. Hit-and-run drivers may be classified as uninsured motorists if there is a disinterested witness to the accident.
You may choose to purchase Uninsured Motorist Economic-only coverage. This coverage is the same as uninsured motorist coverage except that it covers only the actual costs of injuries to you and the occupants of your vehicle. Pain and suffering are not included under this coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage coverage covers repairs to your vehicle if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver. A $250 deductible applies under this coverage, and your recovery is limited to $10,000 or the actual cash value of the vehicle, whichever is less. If your policy includes collision insurance, this coverage is not available.