Learn everything you need to know to buy the best car insurance policy in Eau Claire for your particular situation. You’ll see which carriers are rated as the best car insurance companies for customer satisfaction and the average car insurance rates for your neighborhood.
You’ll also discover how much you can save from knowing how to make intelligent choices about coverage. And, find out how rates for Eau Claire drivers are affected by tickets, accidents and adding teen drivers.
- The average car insurance cost in Eau Claire, WI for a full coverage policy is $1,255 a year, according to CarInsurance.com research.
- GEICO has the cheapest full coverage car insurance quotes in Eau Claire among all the carriers analyzed.
- By comparing price quotes from different carriers, you can save an average of $2,539 per year on a full coverage policy in Eau Claire.
- In Wisconsin, comprehensive insurance costs an average of $340 and collision coverage is $540 per year, based on CarInsurance.com rate analysis.
- Who has the best car insurance in Eau Claire, WI?
- Cheap car insurance in Eau Claire, Wisconsin
- Car insurance coverage – how much car insurance do I need in Eau Claire?
- Average car insurance rates in Eau Claire
- Compare car insurance quotes in Eau Claire – how to save on insurance
- Eau Claire car insurance FAQs
- Guide to car insurance (with rates) in cities of Wisconsin
Who has the best car insurance in Eau Claire, WI?
Deciding who has the best car insurance to suit your needs depends on what is most important to you. For some, it may be price, while others value customer service the most. Still, others may be looking for the convenience of mobile apps, or a company that offers the most car insurance discounts.
Below we list car insurance companies in Eau Claire, and who they are the best at serving, based on CarInsurance.com’s customer satisfaction survey of current policyholders and rate data analysis.
|Low Annual Mileage||State Farm Mutual Auto|
|Good Student||Mid-Century Ins Co|
|Paid in Full||Allstate P&C|
Cheap car insurance in Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Find the cheapest car insurance rates in Eau Claire, based on our rate analysis for three different coverage levels. The driver profile is for age 30, with good credit and a clean driving record. You can see how major insurers rank for price in the chart below.
|Company||Liability Only – State Minimum BI/PD||Liability Only – 50/100/50 BI/PD||Full Coverage – 100/300/100 BI/PD – 500 Comp/Coll|
|GEICO Casualty Co||$184||$207||$631|
|Erie Ins Exchange||$214||$237||$1,230|
|Auto Club Group Ins Co||$230||$252||$1,256|
|State Farm Mutl Automobile Ins||$231||$270||$958|
|Owners Ins Co||$241||$275||$1,216|
|Artisan & Truckers Casualty Co||$249||$298||$1,340|
|Standard Fire Ins Co||$338||$364||$797|
|Nationwide General Ins Co||$366||$358||$776|
|American Family Ins Co||$450||$469||$1,056|
|Mid-Century Ins Co||$453||$551||$1,557|
|Alpha P&C Ins Co||$456||$562||$1,816|
|Allstate P&C Ins Co||$457||$478||$1,430|
|Metropolitan P&C Ins Co||$797||$868||$3,195|
Car insurance coverage – how much car insurance do I need in Eau Claire?
Below we’ll explain what coverage you need to drive legally, your state-required minimum liability limits, and what types of car insurance you may need to be truly protected.
Minimum car insurance requirements in Eau Claire
Wisconsin car insurance laws require only that you insure yourself against bodily injury and property damage liability, so it’s your choice whether to add coverage for yourself, your passengers, and your vehicle.
If you have a newer car, getting comprehensive insurance and collision coverage makes sense. In Wisconsin, comprehensive costs $340 and collision costs $540, on an average per year, according to a rate data analysis done by CarInsurance.com.
These optional coverages come with a deductible. That’s the amount you pay before your insurance company pays. Typical deductibles are $1,000, $500 and $250 – you choose which one you want. The higher the deductible is, the lower your rate will be.
The best car insurance coverage usually isn’t the cheapest. You may be used if you’re in an accident and your insurance doesn’t cover all of the damages. That means your home or savings could be in jeopardy.
To protect your assets, you should buy liability insurance in the following amounts:
- $1,00,000 to pay for others’ medical bills
- $3,00,000 to pay for injuries to others in an accident you cause
- $1,00,000 to pay for damage to others’ property
You should also consider buying these optional coverages:
- Comprehensive, which replaces stolen cars and covers damage to your car from floods, fire, hail and vandalism.
- Collision, which pays for damage to your car from accidents.
Average car insurance rates in Eau Claire
According to our rate analysis, the average rate for Eau Claire drivers for a year of minimum coverage is $330. If you increase your coverage to 50/100/50, you would pay just about $3.17 more a month, or $38 more a year.
You can get full coverage (100/300/100) by paying $77.08 more a month, or an additional $925 a year more than minimum-level coverage.
Eau Claire average for:
- Minimum coverage: $330
- 50/100/50: $368
- 100/300/100: $1,255
Compare car insurance quotes in Eau Claire – how to save on insurance
You can save an average of $2,539 annually on a full coverage policy in Eau Claire by comparing car insurance quotes, according to CarInsurance.com’s rate analysis. While savings will depend on your particular circumstances, there is a significant benefit to shopping your policy.
Eau Claire car insurance FAQs
How much does insurance go up after a speeding ticket in Eau Claire?
A speeding ticket in Eau Claire will hike your car insurance rates by an average of 44%, or about $762 yearly. CarInsurance.com’s rate analysis shows how much more drivers in Eau Claire can expect to pay, on average, for speeding and other common violations.
Minor traffic violations, such as speeding, typically stay on your record for about three years, and you can expect to see the rate increase upon your policy renewal date. More severe infractions like DUI typically stay on your record much longer.
How much does insurance go up for tickets in Eau Claire?
Eau Claire drivers can expect to see a hike in their rates in the range of 39% for minor moving violations such as tailgating or blowing through a stop sign, 74% for more severe infractions such as DUI.
Below, you’ll see how much rates increase, on average, for common traffic violations.
Remember that because insurance companies assess risk differently, you can save by comparison shopping. One carrier may ding you a lot for a citation, while another may spike your rate by much less.
|Violation||Average rate||Rate after violation||$ Increase||% Increase|
|2 speeding tickets 11 mph or over||$1,738||$2,667||$929||53%|
|Distracted driving ticket||$1,738||$2,144||$406||23%|
|Driving without a license or permit||$1,738||$2,093||$355||20%|
|Driving without insurance||$1,738||$2,092||$354||20%|
|DUI/DWI first offense||$1,738||$2,940||$1,202||69%|
|DUI/DWI second offense||$1,738||$4,792||$3,054||176%|
|Failure to stop||$1,738||$2,177||$439||25%|
|Failure to yield||$1,738||$2,162||$424||24%|
|Following too closely||$1,738||$2,149||$411||24%|
|Operating a vehicle in a race (highway racing)||$1,738||$3,121||$1,383||80%|
|Talking on cellphone ticket||$1,738||$2,189||$451||26%|
How much does it cost to add a teen driver to your insurance?
In Eau Claire, adding a 16-year-old daughter to your policy will hike your rates by $1,583 annually, or 126% It’s more for boys. Insuring your 16-year-old son will increase your yearly rate by $1,947, or 155% according to CarInsurance.com rate data.
According to CDC research, teen drivers are inexperienced and involved in more accidents than older drivers. Insurance companies categorize them as high-risk drivers, so they cost more to insure.
If you’re insuring a teen driver of any age, you can get expert tips, rate data by age and details in this parents’ guide to insuring a teen driver.
How much is SR-22 insurance in Eau Claire?
CarInsurance.com data show that for drivers in Eau Claire, your rate will go up by an average of $895 or 51%. If you’re convicted of a serious offense, such as DUI or reckless driving, you may be required to have your insurance company file an SR-22 form on your behalf.
An SR-22 is a car insurance company’s guarantee to the state that you are carrying the legally mandated coverage. If you are required to have an SR-22 filed, your car insurance rates will increase.
— Ashlee Tilford contributed to this story