Car insurance in bustling Milwaukee is twice the cost of coverage in the cheapest parts of the state. Even so, the difference in rates as you compare insurance companies can be substantial no matter where you live. The cost for a policy vaires significantly among insurers, as each company uses its own system for setting rats. That's why it's wise to shop around. Enter your ZIP code, age and coverage level to see the highes and lowest rate supplied by insurers for your neighborhood. You'll also see the average rate, so you know what to expect to pay.
Wisconsin state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Uninsured motorist bodily injury
Underinsured motorist bodily injury
What you need to know about car insurance in Wisconsin
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Wisconsin Car Insurance Laws
Wisconsin actually reduced its liability insurance requirements recently -- cutting the $100,000 per person bodily injury limit to $25,000 and the property damage limit from $15,000 to $10,000 -- and also made formerly mandatory underinsured motorist coverage optional.
These changes may make a very basic policy cheaper but do not provide adequate coverage for anyone with a home, family or substantial savings. If you were to hit a newer car and inflict even minor injuries on its driver, those limits would be quickly exhausted and your finances exposed.
Don't bag a deer with your car: A Wisconsin driver's odds of hitting a deer are among the highest in the country at 1 in 78, according to State Farm data. You are not covered for damage unless you have comprehensive coverage.
A long memory: Most convictions remain on your Wisconsin motor vehicle record for five years, but some serious offenses, such as Operating While Intoxicating (OWI) are there for 55 years.
Double your points: Drivers who hold probationary Wisconsin licenses are assessed double the demerit points after the first offense.
Age restrictions: Restrictions for owning and insuring a car are the same in Wisconsin. A minor can do both, but only with the consent of a parent or guardian.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Wisconsin: You may be fined up to $500 and your license and registration may be suspended.
Proof of insurance via smartphone: Wisconsin law allows drivers to show electronic proof of insurance during a traffic stop. Thirty-one states total allow this.
Largest car insurance companies in Wisconsin by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
Amer Family Insurance Group
Progressive Insurance Group
State Farm Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Allstate Insurance Group
Acuity A Mutual Insurance Company
Farmers Insurance Group
West Bend Mutual Insurance Company
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Auto Club Group
Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.