Once your teen has a driving permit and is legal to drive out on the road it is common to have questions about where and when they can legally drive. CarInsurance.com received a question about a teen driving out of state with a New Jersey probationary license.
- A new driver who’s younger than 21 and is driving on a New Jersey probationary license can drive out of state.
- Drivers with a New Jersey probationary license must obey any restrictions that apply to their license.
- Drivers with a New Jersey learner’s permit are not allowed to drive out of state.
Can you drive out of state with a probationary license?
According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), minors with a probationary license (formerly known as a provisional license) are allowed to drive out of state. However, if your child only has a New Jersey learner’s permit, they are only allowed to drive in the state.
While your teen is allowed to drive out of state on a probationary license, all the probationary license rules and driving restrictions associated with a probationary license in New Jersey must be followed regardless of where you are driving.
According to the New Jersey MVC, a person with a graduated driver’s license (GDL) must observe the following requirements and restrictions:
- No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- The driver may only transport one passenger unless the driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian or the passengers are the driver’s dependents (children).
- Drivers cannot use cell phones (hand-held or hands-free), handheld video games or any other hand-held wireless electronic devices (such as a GPS device).
- All special learners and examination permit holders must be accompanied by an adult supervising driver in the front seat who must possess a valid New Jersey driver’s license, be at least 21 years of age and be licensed to drive for at least three years.
- Display the GDL decals on the vehicle you operate.
While it may be legal per New Jersey laws for your teen to drive out of state, it doesn’t mean that all other states will accept their New Jersey probationary license.
Check with the Department of Motor Vehicles for any state(s) in which you plan on driving to see if they allow driving with a New Jersey probationary license and if the state has additional restrictions.
Penalties for breaking probationary license restrictions
According to New Jersey law, anyone holding a learner’s permit, an examination permit or a probationary license who fails to abide by any GDL restriction during the operation of a vehicle is subject to a $100 fine.
See a reader’s question below about driving with a New Jersey probationary license.
Question: My son is 17 and has a New Jersey probationary driver’s license. He wants to drive to Pennsylvania. Does Pennsylvania have any restrictions regarding his driving in Pennsylvania?
Answer: It is absolutely legal to drive out of state, but you must always follow any license restrictions in your home state. Remember, driving and licensing laws are set at the state level, so check with the local DMV regarding any questions you have about driving or driving restrictions.
According to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT), new drivers can drive in Pennsylvania with an out-of-state permit or junior license, but they must follow the restrictions or conditions placed on them by their home state.
Resources & Methodology
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). “Graduated Driver License.” Accessed October 2022.