Learn everything you need to know to buy the best car insurance policy in Fresno for your particular situation. You’ll see which carriers are rated as the best car insurance companies for customer satisfaction and the average car insurance rates for your neighborhood.
Discover how much you can save by knowing how to make intelligent choices about coverage. And, find out how rates for Fresno drivers are affected by tickets, accidents and adding teen drivers.
- The average car insurance cost in Fresno, CA for a full coverage policy is $1,902 a year, according to CarInsurance.com research.
- United Financial Casualty Co has the cheapest full coverage car insurance quotes in Fresno among all the carriers analyzed.
- By comparing price quotes from different carriers, you can save an average of $2,971 per year on a full coverage policy in Fresno.
- In California, comprehensive insurance costs an average of $137 and collision coverage is $848 per year, based on CarInsurance.com rate analysis.
- Who has the best car insurance in Fresno, CA?
- Cheap car insurance in Fresno, California
- Car insurance coverage – how much car insurance do I need in Fresno?
- Average car insurance rates in Fresno
- Compare car insurance quotes in Fresno – how to save on an insurance policy
- Fresno car insurance FAQs
- Guide to car insurance (with rates) in cities of California
Who has the best car insurance in Fresno, CA?
Deciding who has the best car insurance to suit your needs depends on what is most important to you. For some, it may be price, while others may value customer service the most. Still, others may be looking for the convenience of mobile apps, or a company that offers the most car insurance discounts.
Below we list car insurance companies in Fresno, and who they are the best at serving, based on CarInsurance.com’s customer satisfaction survey of current policyholders and rate data analysis.
|Low Annual Mileage||Farmers Ins Exchange|
|Good Student||AMCO Insurance|
|Bundle||Farmers Ins Exchange|
|Married||United Financial Casualty|
Cheap car insurance in Fresno, California
Find the cheapest car insurance rates in Fresno, based on our rate analysis for three different coverage levels. The driver profile is for age 30, with good credit and a clean driving record. You can see how significant insurers rank for price in the chart below.
|Company||Liability Only – State Minimum BI/PD||Liability Only – 50/100/50 BI/PD||Full Coverage – 100/300/100 BI/PD – 500 Comp/Coll|
|GEICO General Ins Co||$313||$503||$1,272|
|USAA Casualty Ins Co||$354||$522||$1,316|
|United Financial Casualty Co||$406||$584||$1,217|
|Alliance United Ins Co||$433||$715||$1,785|
|Mercury Ins Co||$438||$693||$1,444|
|CSAA Ins Exchange||$499||$719||$2,428|
|Travelers Commercial Ins Co||$518||$773||$2,300|
|Hartford Underwriters Ins Co||$600||$844||$2,077|
|Metropolitan Direct P&C Ins Co||$611||$979||$2,011|
|State Farm Mutl Automobile Ins||$613||$937||$2,333|
|Allstate Northbrook Ind Co||$621||$830||$1,850|
|California Capital Ins Co||$643||$979||$1,962|
|Nationwide Ins Co of Am||$651||$1,036||$2,092|
|Farmers Ins Exchange||$916||$1,336||$2,456|
Car insurance coverage – how much car insurance do I need in Fresno?
Below, we’ll explain what coverage you need to drive legally, which is your state-required minimum liability limits, and what types of car insurance you may need to be truly protected.
Minimum car insurance requirements in Fresno
California car insurance laws require only that you insure yourself against bodily injury and property damage liability, so it’s your choice whether to add coverage for yourself, your passengers, and your vehicle.
If you have a new car, getting comprehensive insurance and collision coverage makes sense. In California, comprehensive costs $137 and collision costs $848, on an average per year, according to a rate data analysis done by CarInsurance.com.
These optional coverages come with a deductible. That’s the amount you pay before your insurance company pays. Typical deductibles are $1,000, $500 and $250 – you choose which one you want. The higher the deductible is, the lower your rate will be.
The best car insurance coverage usually isn’t the cheapest. You may be used if you’re in an accident and your insurance doesn’t cover all the damages. That means your home or savings could be in jeopardy.
To protect your assets, you should buy liability insurance in the following amounts:
- $1,00,000 to pay for others’ medical bills
- $3,00,000 to pay for injuries to others in an accident you cause
- $1,00,000 to pay for damage to others’ property
You should also consider buying these optional coverages:
- Comprehensive, which replaces stolen cars and covers damage to your car from floods, fire, hail and vandalism.
- Collision, which pays for damage to your car from accidents.
Average car insurance rates in Fresno
According to our rate analysis, the average rate for Fresno drivers for a year of minimum coverage is $542. If you increase your coverage to 50/100/50, you would pay just about $22.58 more monthly, or $271 more a year.
You can get full coverage (100/300/100) by paying $113.33 more a month, or an additional $1,360 a year more than minimum-level coverage.
Fresno average for:
- Minimum coverage: $542
- 50/100/50: $813
- 100/300/100: $1,902
Compare car insurance quotes in Fresno – how to save on an insurance policy
You can save an average of $2,971 annually on a full coverage policy in Fresno by comparing car insurance quotes, according to CarInsurance.com’s rate analysis. While savings will depend on your particular circumstances, there is a significant benefit to shopping your policy.
Fresno car insurance FAQs
How much does insurance go up after a speeding ticket in Fresno?
A speeding ticket in Fresno will hike your car insurance rates by an average of 56%, or about $1,399 yearly. CarInsurance.com’s rate analysis shows how much more drivers in Fresno can expect to pay, on average, for speeding and other common violations.
Minor traffic violations, such as speeding, typically stay on your record for about three years, and you can expect to see the rate increase upon your policy renewal date. More severe infractions like DUI stay on your record much longer.
How much does insurance go up for tickets in Fresno?
Fresno drivers can expect to see a hike in their rates in the range of 55% for minor moving violations such as tailgating or blowing through a stop sign, 185% for more severe infractions such as DUI.
Below you’ll see how much rates increase, on average, for ordinary traffic violations.
Since insurance companies assess risk differently, you can still save by comparison shopping. One carrier may ding you a lot for a citation, while another may spike your rate by much less.
|Violation||Average rate||Rate after violation||$ Increase||% Increase|
|2 speeding tickets 11 mph or over||$2,497||$5,086||$2,589||104%|
|Distracted driving ticket||$2,497||$3,582||$1,085||43%|
|Driving without a license or permit||$2,497||$4,020||$1,523||61%|
|Driving without insurance||$2,497||$3,336||$839||34%|
|DUI/DWI first offense||$2,497||$7,577||$5,080||203%|
|DUI/DWI second offense||$2,497||$12,966||$10,469||419%|
|Failure to stop||$2,497||$3,535||$1,038||42%|
|Failure to yield||$2,497||$3,535||$1,038||42%|
|Following too closely||$2,497||$3,535||$1,038||42%|
|Operating a vehicle in a race (highway racing)||$2,497||$7,294||$4,797||192%|
|Talking on cellphone ticket||$2,497||$3,558||$1,061||42%|
How much does it cost to add a teen driver to your insurance?
In Fresno, adding a 16-year-old daughter to your policy will hike your rates by $2,639 annually or 139%, and it’s more for boys. Insuring your 16-year-old son will increase your yearly rate by $2,639 or 139% according to CarInsurance.com rate data.
According to CDC research, teen drivers are inexperienced and involved in more accidents than older drivers. Insurance companies categorize them as high-risk drivers, so they cost more to insure.
If you’re insuring a teen driver of any age, you can get expert tips, rate data by age and details in this parents’ guide to insuring a teen driver.
How much is SR-22 insurance in Fresno?
CarInsurance.com data show that for drivers in Fresno, your rate will go up by an average of $2,571 or 103%. If you’re convicted of a serious offense, such as DUI or reckless driving, you may be required to have your insurance company file an SR-22 form on your behalf.
An SR-22 is a car insurance company’s guarantee to the state that you are carrying the legally mandated coverage. If you are required to have an SR-22 filed, your car insurance rates will increase.
— Ashlee Tilford contributed to this story