Here you’ll learn everything you need to know to buy sufficient car insurance in Virginia at an affordable price.
Virginia cities surrounding Washington, D.C., pay much higher car insurance rates than the rest of the state. You can see how all Virginia ZIP codes compare by clicking around the map below. No matter what neighborhood you live in, though, you'll find that different car insurance companies will charge the same driver very different state car insurance rates. That's why it's wise to compare rates to be sure you're not overpaying. For example, in Alexandria ZIP code 22312, the highest rate is among major carriers surveyed was $1,443. That’s $614 more than the lowest ($829). You can save, on average, $450 in Virginia by comparing rates, according to CarInsurance.com’s average car insurance savings rate by state analysis.
The average car insurance rate for Virginia is $972, according to a CarInsurance.com rate analysis.
To get a customized rate for your neighborhood, enter your ZIP, age and coverage level in the tool below. You'll also see how much you can save by noting the difference between the highest and lowest rate fielded from major insurers.
Additional coverage is typically affordable, and, naturally offers more protection. Increasing coverage from the state minimum to higher liability limits costs $37 a year or $3 a month. Hiking your policy to full coverage with a $500 deductible costs, on average, $600 more, or $50 a month.
Average annual rate
Liability Only - state minimum
Liability Only - 50/100/50 BI/PD
Full Coverage - 100/300/100 BI/PD $500 Comp/Collision deductible
*The table shows the average annual rate of nearly every ZIP code in Virginia from up to six major insurance companies. Rates are for a male driver, age 40, with a clean record and good credit for a 2016 Honda Accord. Data was provided for CarInsurance.com by Quadrant Information Services.
Recommended car insurance coverage
When deciding how much car insurance to buy, you need to assess your particular situation. To drive legally, you must buy at least the minimum liability insurance required by your state. If you didn’t borrow money from a lender to buy your car and you don’t have a lot of money or assets to protect, that might be a wise choice. If, however, you don’t own your car outright, you will be required to get comprehensive and collision coverage. Additionally, if you have a home and savings to protect, it’s wise to buy more coverage.
The more money and assets you have, the more likely it is that you may be sued following a car accident. Unless you are determined to pay the lowest car insurance rate possible, we recommend you buy higher than minimum liability coverage. If your net worth is:
less than $50,000, choose at least 50/100/50
between $50,000 and $100,000, choose at least 100/300/100
more than $100,000, choose at least 250/500/100
If you're leasing or financing your car, you automatically need coverage of 100/300/100 or higher.
Collision and comprehensive
Collision coverage pays for damage to your car after an accident that you cause. Comprehensive insurance pays to replace stolen cars and for damages from vandalism, flooding, hail, fire and animal strikes. If your car is:
less than 10 years old, you should strongly consider buying collision and comprehensive.
more than 10 years old, only buy collision and comprehensive if your car is worth $3,000 or more, if you couldn’t afford to replace your car if it’s wrecked, or if you just want more protection on your policy.
Based on CarInsurance.com rate data, drivers in Virginia pay an average of $381 yearly for collision coverage, and $100 for comprehensive. If you buy comp and collision, check our guide to choosing a deductible amount.
Uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage pays for damages if you’re hit by a driver with no insurance or a driver with coverage that’s insufficient to pay for your repairs and medical expenses. In Virginia, these are required by state laws. These should match the liability limits you choose.
Medical coverage (MedPay)
Medical payments coverage can help pay for the medical or funeral expenses of covered drivers and passengers after an accident, regardless of fault, up to $25,000. In most states it's an optional addition to your car insurance policy. MedPay does the following:
Covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses
Pays for expenses after health insurance limits are exceeded
Offers additional protection to insured drivers who are hit by a car while walking or biking
If you and your passengers:
Don’t have health insurance, or have a plan that doesn’t cover car accidents or has low limits, we recommend that you add medical coverage of at least $5,000 to your car insurance policy.
Do have health insurance, it’s still a good idea to have medical coverage if you want the best protection in your policy, as it can pay out after your health benefits are maxed out.
If you got a loan to pay for your car and have an accident, gap insurance pays the difference between the cash value of your car and the current outstanding balance on your loan or lease.
If you’re financing your car, your car is less than one year old and you’ve put less than 20 percent down on it, you should buy gap insurance. If not, you don’t need gap insurance.
If you’re leasing your car, it’s a good idea to buy gap insurance if you don't already have the coverage in your lease agreement.
If you own your car outright, you don’t need gap insurance.
Cheapest car insurance in Virginia by company
Below you'll see average annual rates for Virginia, ranked cheapest to most expensive, for three coverage levels:
State minimum liability requirements
Liability limits of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident and $50,000 property damage
Liability of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident and $100,000 property damage, with comprehensive and collision at $500 deductible
State minimum average annual rate
50/100/50 average annual rate
100/300/100 average annual rate
Allstate Prop & Cas Ins Co
Geico Gen Ins Co
Nationwide Prop & Cas Ins Co
Progressive Gulf Ins Co
State Farm Mut Auto Ins Co
Low cost auto insurance for Virginia drivers with recent accidents
Filing an accident claim means you are likely to pay more for your car insurance coverage. However, how much more you pay depends on several factors, and your car insurance company plays is one of those significant factors. Each company assesses risk differently, so that's why the increase after an accident will vary among insurers. Here is how major carriers compare after at-fault accidents for the average Virginia driver with a full coverage policy:
1 At-fault property damage accident over $2K
2 At-fault property damage accident over $2k
At-fault bodily injury accident
Progressive Gulf Ins
State Farm Mutual Auto
Who has the cheapest car insurance for drivers in Virginia with speeding tickets?
If you get a speeding ticket, chances are you'll see an increase in what you pay for car insurance, upon your policy renewal. Typically, you'll pay more for three years. But even with a traffic ticket, comparison shopping can save you money. For instance, you'll see that the difference between the highest rate and the lowest in the table below is $947, on average, according to CarInsurance.com's rate analysis. That's how much you can save by comparing car insurance companies.
State Farm Mutual Auto
Progressive Gulf Ins
How much does it cost to add a teen to your policy in Virginia?
No matter where you live, adding a new driver to your family policy will hike your rate significantly. In Virginia, you can expect your rate to go up by an average of 199 percent when adding a driver age 16 to your coverage, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. You'll see in the table below how much it costs, on average, to add a teen driver in Virginia, and how major insurers compare on price. Nationwide had the lowest auto insurance cost for adding a driver age 16 to a full coverage family policy, among insurers surveyed.
Average Rate after adding female teen
$ Increase (female)
Average Rate after adding male teen
$ Increase (male)
Progressive Gulf Ins
State Farm Mutual Auto
Cheapest Virginia auto insurance for young drivers: Ages 18 to 25
You’ll see in the chart below which car insurance companies have the lowest rates for young drivers buying a full coverage policy. Average car insurance rates by age data shows that drivers typically pay higher rates until age 26, when rates begin to drop as drivers gain more experience on the road. But even young drivers can save money by comparing car insurance rates to see which company has the lowest rates, by qualifying for student discounts and by staying on their parents’ policy as long as possible.
Senior drivers: Cheap auto insurance for Virginia drivers age 65 to 85
Below you can see average rates by company, and how they compare, for drivers age 65 and over, buying a full coverage policy.
Virginia drivers with bad credit: You can still save on car insurance
Car insurance for drivers with bad credit costs significantly more than it does for those with good credit. Virginia is not among the worst states for drivers with bad credit, as CarInsurance.com's data analysis shows it has the eleventh lowest percentage increase for bad credit drivers. But you'll still pay more. Compared to good credit drivers, those in Virginia with bad credit pay 61 percent more, on average. The good news is that you can still shave some money off your coverage costs if you compare car insurance companies. You'll see below that the difference among major insurers is nearly $1,326 for a full coverage policy for a driver with bad credit. That's how much you can potentially save by comparing car insurance quotes.
State Farm Mutual Auto
Progressive Gulf Ins
Best car insurance companies in Virginia
Scores are based on Insure.com’s “Best Insurance Companies” customer review survey of 3,700 customers. Policyholders ranked insurers on claims handling, customer service, value, mobile apps/website usefulness and were asked if they would renew their coverage and if they would recommend the company. All scores are out of 100.
CSAA Insurance Group
The Auto Club Group (ACG) - AAA
Auto Club of Southern California (Auto Club Enterprise Insurance Group)
Get Personalized Car Insurance Quotes
Largest car insurance companies in in Virginia
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance Group
State Farm Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Farmers Insurance Group
American Family Insurance Group
Source: A.M. Best; State/Line (P/C Lines) - P/C, US; Data as of:November 28, 2018
Virginia Car Insurance Laws
Virginia roads with the most fatal accidents
Here are the highways and roads where the most fatal accidents happened in 2017, according to the most recent data available from the Fatality Analysis Reporting System research compiled by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration:
Number of Fatal Accidents
Stringent speeding laws: Virginia is tough on speeding. For example, a conviction for speeding above 80 mph can be considered reckless driving -- a six-point offense -- and stay on the driver's motor vehicle record for 11 years, long after the points have disappeared.
A "super speeder" law added fines of as much as $1,050 to tickets before that provision of the law was repealed in 2008.
Bank some safety points: For every year without incident, a Virginia driver can accumulate a "safety point" that offsets a demerit point. Drivers can also get an additional safety point for taking a defensive driving class. In total, you can't accumulate more than five, though.
Pay $500 a year and drive anyway: Virginia has an unusual "Uninsured Motor Vehicle" fee that allows a car owner to register an uninsured vehicle and drive at his or her own risk. The owner is still legally liable for any damages he or she causes.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Virginia: If you don't register and pay the fee to drive uninsured, you may be fined $500, have your license and registration suspended and be required to file an SR-22 form.
Electric vehicle tax: To make up for lost gasoline tax revenue, owners of electric vehicles face an additional $50 cost at registration time.
DUIs in Virginia:Driving under the influence and other drug- and alcohol-related violations in Virginia add six points to your license and will stay on your driving record for 11 years.
No age restriction for insurance, title or registration: Virginia allows minors to own, register and insure vehicles, but it is up to an insurance company to decide if they will write a policy for a minor.
Average annual car insurance rates for major cities in Virginia
Below you'll see how average annual rates for several of the largest cities in the state compare to state and national averages. Rates are for coverage of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident in liability and $50,000 of property damage coverage, with comprehensive and collision carrying a $500 deductible.