In New Jersey, driving without insurance or not being able to show proof of auto insurance when requested is a serious offense with harsh penalties. It is important to realize that you are breaking the law if you drive uninsured. The penalties for driving uninsured are getting more severe in NJ, in addition to risking economic loss by not having insurance protection; you risk fines, suspension of driver's license or registration and even time in jail. In the future, your car could be impounded if you are caught behind the wheel without coverage.
A citation for this violation of the New Jersey law may result in fines, community service, license suspension and surcharges according to the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission.
The New Jersey statutes state that every owner or registered owner of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this state shall maintain motor vehicle coverage, under provisions approved by the Commissioner of Insurance.
According to the information we found, a first time infraction of NJSA 39:6B-2 (driving without liability insurance) includes a fine of at least $300 and up to $1000, community service, DMV surcharges of $250 for 3 years, and the loss of license for up to one year. There are court costs and fees that are required to be paid as well as the penalties listed above.
A second offense comes with penalties of a fine up to $5000, a mandatory jail sentence of 14 days, 30 days community service and a license suspension for 2 years or more. State laws and statutes are always being changed and updated though so if you were cited for being an uninsured motorist in NJ, you may want to contact the courts to find out what exact penalties you are facing.
To get New Jersey auto insurance so that you are not an uninsured motorist on the roadways of NJ, click here.