The State of Kentucky requires all motorists to carry liability coverage in the amounts of 25/50/10. These numbers stand for $25,000 total for bodily injury per person, $50,000 total for bodily injury coverage per accident and $10,000 total for property damage per accident.
The penalties for driving without Kentucky car insurance can be rather severe. For a first offense you are cited to go to court and can be fined between $500 to $1000 or be imprisoned for not more than 90 days or both.
Your KY motor vehicle registration and license plates can be suspended for one year or until proof of motor vehicle insurance is provided. You also could lose your license for up to a year. The penalties increase for each subsequent violation of not having proper proof of auto insurance.
If you were found with no insurance (thus an uninsured motorist) in the state of Kentucky contact the court listed on your citation for information on the possible penalties you may receive in court. The clerk of the court can likely tell you what the normal fine amount is for a first time offense of driving without insurance in the county in which you were cited.
Get an affordable car insurance rate quote for Kentucky here with us so that you are not found driving without insurance in KY.