Maryland state law requires 20/40/15 as the minimum insurance coverage on an automobile. These numbers stand for $20,000 per injured person up to a total of $40,000 for all injured persons in one accident for bodily injury liability insurance and property damage insurance of $15,000.
If you cancel or let your insurance lapse in MD, turn in your license plats and registration card immediately to any Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) office. You also need to do this if you sell or transfer the ownership of your vehicle.
The following penalties can be imposed by the MVA on an uninsured motorist in Maryland:
- Lose of license plates and vehicle registration privileges.
- Pay uninsured motorist penalty fees for each lapse of insurance - $150 for the first 30 days, $7 for each date thereafter.
- Pay a restoration fee of up to $25 for a vehicle's registration.
- Be prohibited from registering any future vehicles until all insurance violations are cleared.
- Have license plates confiscated by an authorized tag recovery agent, once registration suspension is in effect.
- Pay a fine of up to $1,000 and/or 1 year imprisonment if provided false evidence of insurance.
Also it is listed as a 5 point violation to be cited as driving without insurance, a violation of MD transportation code Title 17.