South Dakota Car Insurance Laws
South Dakota's minimum required liability insurance levels are about average compared with other states. They're not adequate, though, if you have substantial savings or other assets you would like to protect from lawsuits.
South Dakota requires that you buy uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury insurance to pay your hospital bills if you get hit by a driver with no or inadequate coverage.
Rules for teen drivers: While South Dakota allows minors as young as 14 to get a learner's permit, those drivers cannot apply for a full operator's permit until age 16.
Cancellations and nonrenewals: Your policy can be canceled midterm only because of nonpayment or you have lost your driving privileges. If an insurance company chooses not to renew your policy, it must give you 60 days' notice.
Uninsured motorist penalties for South Dakota: You may be fined $500 and be sentenced to 30 days in jail, your license may be suspended and you may be required to file an SR-22 form.
Run for cover: South Dakota is prone to hailstorms, with hundreds of reports of hail every year. Only comprehensive coverage will pay for repairs. While paintless dent repair is often an appropriate and cheaper means of repair, the state's Department of Insurance notes, your insurance company must pay for traditional repairs if no paintless dent repair is available locally.
Proof of insurance via smartphone: South Dakota is one of 31 states that allow drivers to show electronic proof of insurance during a traffic stop.
Largest car insurance companies for South Dakota by market share
||Company / Group
||Direct Premiums Written ($)
||Market Share (%)
||State Farm Group
||Progressive Insurance Group
||Amer Family Insurance Group
||Farmers Insurance Group
||De Smet Insurance Group
||Farm Bureau P&C Group
||Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of NE
||Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
|Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.