Mississippi state car insurance rates are highest along the Mississippi River and lowest on the eastern side of the state. Every town is mapped out below, with comparable rates that show you just how much difference there is between insurance companies. You can save money by comparing rates, because no two insurers will price the same policy at the same amount. That's because insurance companies each assess risk differently and use their own formulas for setting rates. Enter your ZIP code in the tool below to see average rates for your area, as well as the highest and lowest rate issued from among major insurers.
Mississippi state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
What you need to know about car insurance in Mississippi
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Mississippi Car Insurance Laws
Mississippi has more uninsured drivers than any other state, according to the Insurance Research Council, with 28 percent of its motorists going without coverage.
If you are one of the 72 percent of Mississippi drivers who carry the required liability insurance, you should also consider uninsured motorist coverage as part of your policy. Your insurance company is required to offer it to you, but you can reject it. We don't think you should, especially if you do not have health insurance of your own.
We think collision coverage is a better buy than uninsured motorist property damage because it covers your car no matter who is at fault for the damage. It's more expensive but probably worth the cost for a car you can't afford to replace.
You shouldn't skip comprehensive coverage. Mississippi is especially susceptible to floods, tornadoes and hurricanes, and only comprehensive coverage will pay for the damage they inflict.
Insurance not needed for registration: Proof of auto insurance isn't required when registering a vehicle, but Mississippi's compulsory auto liability insurance law does require an insurance card showing required coverages are in place to be in the vehicle at all times.
Alternatives to insurance: Instead of a obtaining a car insurance policy, you legally satisfy Mississippi law by posting a bond, or making a cash or security deposit in an amount equal to the minimum insurance requirements.
Safety inspections: Mississippi is one of the few states still requiring an annual safety inspection. An inspection and windshield sticker costs $5.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Mississippi: If caught driving without insurance in Mississippi, you may be fined $500 to $1000 and your license may be suspended.
Proof of insurance via smartphone: Mississippi law allows drivers to show electronic proof of insurance during a traffic stop. Thirty-one states total allow this.
Largest car insurance companies for Mississippi by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Southern Farm Bureau Cas Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Alfa Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Shelter Insurance Companies
Source: A.M. Best market share Rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.