Idaho drivers enjoy state car insurance rates that are among the nation's cheapest -- if they shop around. But in every ZIP code -- nearly all of Idaho's cities and towns are mapped out below -- the lowest-priced insurance company is hundreds of dollars less than the most expensive for the same coverage. That means that even if your state has some of the most lowest rates compared to the rest of the country, you can still save by comparing insurance companies. Enter your ZIP code and gender and choose from six age groups and three coverage levels to see what you can expect to pay and how much you can save.
Idaho state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability:
What you need to know about car insurance in Idaho
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Idaho Car Insurance Laws
Idaho has very middle-of-the-road liability limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $15,000 for property damage. If you have a family or own a home, the industry standard for protection is 100/300/50.
Off-roading rules: Off-roading on ATVs, UTVs, motorbikes and other specialty off-roading vehicles is popular in Idaho. The requirements vary depending on where you are riding. Registration of your vehicle is almost always needed, but insurance may not be unless you are also driving on state or city roads with your vehicle.
Electronic proof of insurance is accepted: While it's wise to still carry your paper insurance card in the vehicle or in your wallet, if you have proof of auto insurance on your smart phone or tablet, law enforcement and other state officials will accept it.
Violations, points and length on record: Idaho's Transportation Department records moving violations that occur in Idaho, other states and Canada. Points stay on your record for three years after the conviction dates.
Discounts for ages 55+: Idaho auto insurance providers are required to offer older drivers (55+ years of age) a discount for completing an approved accident-prevention class. The discount is good for three years and is renewable.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Idaho: You may be fined $206, your license may be suspended and you may be required to file an SR-22 form. If you were driving without privileges (had your license suspended, revoked, etc. due to your previous citation), this offense is much more serious and carries a mandatory minimum of two days in jail, and up to six months. It also carries up to a $1000 fine, and it carries an additional license suspension of six months.
Electronic proof of insurance: Idaho is one of 31 states that allow drivers to show proof of insurance during a traffic stop on a smartphone.
Largest car insurance companies for Idaho by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Farm Bureau of ID Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Progressive Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Amer Family Insurance Group
Sentry Insurance Group
Source: A.M. Best market share Rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.