Drivers in eastern Kentucky coal country pay breathtaking amounts for car insurance, nearly twice the rates that motorists in the Bluegrass Region and along the Ohio River do. Drivers in parts of Essie pay among the highest average rates in the country. But even in an expensive location for insurance, you can still save a lot of money by comparing rates. For example, the highest rate ($4,353) for Essie ZIP 40827 is more than three times as much as the lowest ($1,082) for the same policy.
Car insurance rates for every city and town in the Kentucky are mapped out below. Almost always, there is hundreds of dollars' difference between insurance carriers no matter where you live. By entering your ZIP code, age group and coverage level, you can see how much you can save by comparing rates.
Cheap car insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky car insurance requirements
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Personal injury protection
Kentucky is referred to as a choice no-fault state. You will be offered personal injury protection (PIP) of at least $10,000 a part of your car insurance policy, but you have the option to decline the coverage.
When drivers accept PIP as part of an auto insurance policy, they are guaranteeing that they receive medical treatment after a car accident, no matter who was at fault. There also are some limits. They cannot make injury claims or sue at-fault drivers unless a monetary threshold for medical expenses is exceeded (it's currently $1,000) or the accident resulted in serious or permanent injuries or death.
When you reject PIP, you preserve the right to sue for damages with no restrictions. If you and all other drivers on your policy reject PIP coverage, the state requires that you purchase Guest PIP coverage so that basic PIP benefits will be provided to your passengers and pedestrians.
A third option is to keep PIP and preserve the ability to sue for damages -- known as a buy-back provision -- but your liability premiums will probably be higher because others will have the right to sue you, too.
Penalties for no insurance: Your registration will be suspended until proof of insurance is provided.
If you are caught driving without insurance, the penalty is a fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 90 days in jail for a first offense. Subsequent violations, within five years, will receive a fine up to $2,500 and/or up to 180 days in jail.
No Pass/No Drive: Kentucky has a law requiring passing grades for 16- and 17-year-olds who want to be licensed. To receive an instructional permit or license, drivers of this age are required to obtain a school compliance verification form from their school district. If the student drops out of school or is found to be academically deficient, the individual's driving privilege will be suspended. Another incentive: a good student discount is among the biggest discounts for teenagers.
File an insurance complaint online: The Kentucky Department of Insurance allows you to electronically submit a complaint to make the process move faster.
Electronic proof of insurance: Kentucky is one of 31 states that allow drivers to show proof of insurance on a smartphone during a traffic stop.
Recommended car insurance coverage
The cheapest car insurance may not provide sufficient protection, so how much insurance should you buy? Bare-bones coverage may be a good choice if you have few assets or have an old car and don’t drive much. But if you have a home and investments, consider buying more insurance. If you don’t, you’re at risk for having your money and house taken to cover the cost of an accident. If you financed your car you will be required to get additional comprehensive and collision coverage.
We recommend you buy more insurance than is required to legally drive a car in your state, especially if you have savings and assets. The more money you have, the more likely you are to be sued following a car accident should your insurance be insufficient to cover all the expenses. If your net worth is:
less than $50,000, choose at least 50/100/50
between $50,000 and $100,000, choose at least 100/300/100
more than $100,000, choose at least 250/500/100
If you're leasing or financing your car, you must get coverage of 100/300/100 or higher.
Collision and comprehensive
Collision coverage pays for damage to your car after an accident that you cause. Comprehensive insurance pays to replace stolen cars and for damages from vandalism, flooding, hail, fire and animal strikes. If your car is:
less than 10 years old, you should strongly consider buying collision and comprehensive.
more than 10 years old, only buy collision and comprehensive if your car is worth $3,000 or more, if you couldn’t afford to replace your car if it’s wrecked, or if you just want more protection on your policy.
For drivers in Kentucky, collision costs an average of $573 yearly, comprehensive is $286, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. If you buy comp and collision, check our guide to choosing a deductible amount.
Medical coverage (MedPay)
Medical payments coverage can help pay for the medical or funeral expenses of covered drivers and passengers after an accident, regardless of fault, up to $25,000. In most states, including Texas, it's an optional addition to your car insurance policy. MedPay does the following:
Covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses
Pays for expenses after health insurance limits are exceeded
Offers additional protection to insured drivers who are hit by a car while walking or biking
If you and your passengers:
Don’t have health insurance, or have a plan that doesn’t cover car accidents or has low limits, we recommend that you add medical coverage of at least $5,000 to your car insurance policy.
Do have health insurance, it’s still a good idea to have medical coverage if you want the best protection in your policy, as it can pay out after your health benefits are maxed out.
If you don’t own your car outright and have an accident, gap insurance pays the difference between the cash value of your car and the current outstanding balance on your loan or lease.
If you’re financing your car, your car is less than one year old and you’ve put less than 20 percent down on it, you should buy gap insurance. If not, you don’t need gap insurance.
If you’re leasing your car, it’s a good idea to buy gap insurance if you aren’t already required to in your lease agreement.
If you own your car outright, you don’t need gap insurance.
Average annual rate
Liability Only - state minimum
Liability Only - 50/100/50 BI/PD
Full Coverage - 100/300/100 BI/PD $500 Comp/Collision deductible
*The table shows the average annual rate of nearly every ZIP code in Kentucky from up to six major insurance companies. Rates are for a male driver, age 40, with a clean record and good credit for a 2016 Honda Accord. Data was provided for CarInsurance.com by Quadrant Information Services.
Cheapest car insurance in Kentucky by company
Below you'll see average annual rates for Kentucky, ranked cheapest to most expensive, for three coverage levels:
State minimum liability requirements
Liability limits of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident and $50,000 property damage
Liability of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident and $100,000 property damage, with comprehensive and collision at $500 deductible
State minimum average annual rate
50/100/50 average annual rate
100/300/100 average annual rate
Allstate Prop & Cas Ins Co
Geico Gen Ins Co
Nationwide Prop & Cas Ins Co
Progressive Direct Ins Co
State Farm Mut Auto Ins Co
Low cost auto insurance for Kentucky drivers with recent accidents
Filing an accident claim means you are likely to pay more for your car insurance coverage. However, how much more you pay depends on several factors, and your car insurance company plays is one of those significant factors. Each company assesses risk differently, so that's why the increase after an accident will vary among insurers. Here is how major carriers compare after at-fault accidents for the average Kentucky driver with a full coverage policy:
1 At-fault property damage accident over $2K
2 At-fault property damage accident over $2k
At-fault bodily injury accident
State Farm Mutual Auto
Who has the cheapest Kentucky car insurance for drivers with speeding tickets?
If you get a speeding ticket, chances are you'll see an increase in what you pay for car insurance, upon your policy renewal. Typically, you'll pay more for three years. But even with a traffic ticket, comparison shopping can save you money. For instance, you'll see that the difference between the highest rate and the lowest in the table below is more than $1,371, on average, according to CarInsurance.com's rate analysis. That's how much you can save by comparing car insurance companies.
State Farm Mutual Auto
How much does it cost to add a teen to your policy in Kentucky?
No matter where you live, adding a new driver to your family policy will hike your rate significantly. In Kentucky, you can expect your rate to go up by an average of 142 percent when adding a driver age 16 to your coverage, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. You'll see in the table below how much it costs, on average, to add a teen driver in Kentucky, and how major insurers compare on price. GEICO General had the lowest auto insurance cost for adding a driver age 16 to a full coverage family policy, among insurers surveyed.
Average Rate after adding female teen
$ Increase (female)
Average Rate after adding male teen
$ Increase (male)
State Farm Mutual Auto
Cheapest Kentucky auto insurance for young drivers: Ages 18 to 25
Enter an age from 18 to 25 to see who has the best rates for young drivers in Kentucky, by company. You’ll see in the chart below which car insurance companies have the lowest rates for young drivers buying a full coverage policy. Average car insurance rates by age data shows that drivers typically pay higher rates until age 26, when rates begin to drop as drivers gain more experience on the road. But even young drivers can save money by comparing car insurance rates to see which company has the lowest rates, by qualifying for student discounts and by staying on their parents’ policy as long as possible.
Senior drivers: Cheap auto insurance for Kentucky drivers age 65 to 85
Below you can see average rates by company for drivers age 65 and over, buying a full coverage policy. While comparing car insurance quotes is always one of the primary ways to save on coverage, you can also see if you qualify for a mature driver discount or if you can trim rates by taking a defensive driving course.
Car insurance for Kentucky drivers with bad credit
Car insurance for drivers with bad credit costs significantly more than it does for those with good credit. Kentucky ranks 20th among the worst states for drivers with bad credit, as CarInsurance.com's data analysis shows. Compared to good credit drivers, those in Kentucky with bad credit pay 72 percent more, on average. The good news is that you can still shave some money off your coverage costs if you compare car insurance companies. You'll see below that the difference among major insurers is nearly $1,345 for a full coverage policy for a driver with bad credit. That's how much you can potentially save by comparing car insurance quotes.
State Farm Mutual Auto
Best car insurance companies in Kentucky
Scores are based on Insure.com’s “Best Insurance Companies” customer review survey of 3,700 customers. Companies not in the top 10 of market share do not qualify. All scores are out of 100.
CSAA Insurance Group
The Auto Club Group (ACG) - AAA
Auto Club of Southern California (Auto Club Enterprise Insurance Group)
Get Personalized Car Insurance Quotes
Largest car insurance companies in Kentucky
State Farm Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Allstate Insurance Group
Farmers Insurance Group
American Family Insurance Group
Source: A.M. Best; State/Line (P/C Lines) - P/C, US; Data as of:November 28, 2018
Kentucky car insurance laws and resources
Number of Fatal Accidents
Average annual car insurance rates for major cities in Kentucky
Below you'll see how average annual rates for several of the largest cities in the state compare to state and national averages. Rates are for coverage of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident in liability and $50,000 of property damage coverage, with comprehensive and collision carrying a $500 deductible.