Who pays more for car insurance, Kansas City or St. Louis? It’s St. Louis by several hundred dollars. But no matter where you live, you can save on car insurance by comparing rates. Comparable state car insurance rates for every city and town in Missouri are mapped out below. Enter your ZIP code, age group and coverage level in the tool to see what you can expect to pay in your neighborhood. You’ll see the price differs among insurers for the same coverage. That’s why it pays to shop around before you buy.
Missouri Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
- The average car insurance cost in Missouri is $149 per month or $1,798 a year for a full coverage policy.
- Geico & Allied Prop & Cas have the cheapest auto insurance in Missouri for state minimum policy.
- In Missouri, you can expect your rate to go up by an average of 131 percent when adding a driver age 16 to your coverage.
- Missouri ranks 21st among the worst states for drivers with bad credit.
- Cheap car insurance in Missouri
- Recommended car insurance coverage
- Cheapest car insurance in Missouri by company
- Low cost auto insurance for Missouri drivers with recent accidents
- Who has the cheapest Missouri car insurance for drivers with speeding tickets?
- How much does it cost to add a teen to your policy in Missouri?
- Cheapest Missouri auto insurance for young drivers: Ages 18 to 25
- Senior drivers: Cheap auto insurance for Missouri drivers age 65 to 85
- Car insurance for Missouri drivers with bad credit
- Best car insurance companies in Missouri
- Largest car insurance companies in Missouri
- Missouri Car Insurance Laws
- Average annual car insurance rates for major cities in Missouri
- Guide to car insurance (with rates) in cities of Missouri
Cheap car insurance in Missouri
Missouri car insurance requirements
|Minimum Coverage||Minimum Limit|
|Minimum bodily injury liability||$25,000/$50,000|
|Minimum property damage liability||$10,000|
|Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury||$25,000/$50,000|
Recommended car insurance coverage
The cheapest car insurance may not provide sufficient protection, so how much insurance should you buy? Bare-bones coverage may be a good choice if you have few assets or have an old car and don’t drive much. But if you have a home and investments, consider buying more insurance. If you don’t, you’re at risk for having your money and house taken to cover the cost of an accident. If you financed your car you will be required to get additional comprehensive and collision coverage.
Use our How Much Car Insurance Do You Need? tool to get a recommendation.
We recommend you buy more insurance than is required to legally drive a car in your state, especially if you have savings and assets. The more money you have, the more likely you are to be sued following a car accident should your insurance be insufficient to cover all the expenses. If your net worth is:
- less than $50,000, choose at least 50/100/50
- between $50,000 and $100,000, choose at least 100/300/100
- more than $100,000, choose at least 250/500/100
If you’re leasing or financing your car, you must get coverage of 100/300/100 or higher.
Collision and comprehensive
Collision coverage pays for damage to your car after an accident that you cause. Comprehensive insurance pays to replace stolen cars and for damages from vandalism, flooding, hail, fire and animal strikes. If your car is:
- less than 10 years old, you should strongly consider buying collision and comprehensive.
- more than 10 years old, only buy collision and comprehensive if your car is worth $3,000 or more, if you couldn’t afford to replace your car if it’s wrecked, or if you just want more protection on your policy.
For drivers in Missouri, collision costs an average of $473 yearly, comprehensive is $298, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. If you buy comp and collision, check our guide to choosing a deductible amount.
Medical coverage (MedPay)
Medical payments coverage can help pay for the medical or funeral expenses of covered drivers and passengers after an accident, regardless of fault, up to $25,000. In most states, including Texas, it’s an optional addition to your car insurance policy. MedPay does the following:
- Covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses
- Pays for expenses after health insurance limits are exceeded
- Offers additional protection to insured drivers who are hit by a car while walking or biking
If you and your passengers:
- Don’t have health insurance, or have a plan that doesn’t cover car accidents or has low limits, we recommend that you add medical coverage of at least $5,000 to your car insurance policy.
- Do have health insurance, it’s still a good idea to have medical coverage if you want the best protection in your policy, as it can pay out after your health benefits are maxed out.
If you don’t own your car outright and have an accident, gap insurance pays the difference between the cash value of your car and the current outstanding balance on your loan or lease.
- If you’re financing your car, your car is less than one year old and you’ve put less than 20 percent down on it, you should buy gap insurance. If not, you don’t need gap insurance.
- If you’re leasing your car, it’s a good idea to buy gap insurance if you aren’t already required to in your lease agreement.
- If you own your car outright, you don’t need gap insurance.
|Coverage limits||Average annual rate|
|Liability Only – state minimum||$409|
|Liability Only – 50/100/50 BI/PD||$457|
|Full Coverage – 100/300/100 BI/PD $500 Comp/Collision deductible||$1,154|
**The table shows the average annual rate of nearly every ZIP code in Missouri from up to six major insurance companies. Rates are for a male driver, age 40, with a clean record and good credit for a 2016 Honda Accord. Data was provided for CarInsurance.com by Quadrant Information Services.
Cheapest car insurance in Missouri by company
Below you’ll see average annual rates for Missouri, ranked cheapest to most expensive, for three coverage levels:
- State minimum liability requirements
- Liability limits of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident and $50,000 property damage
- Liability of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident and $100,000 property damage, with comprehensive and collision at $500 deductible
|Company||State minimum average annual rate||50/100/50 average annual rate||100/300/100 average annual rate|
|Allied Prop & Cas Ins Co||$346||$374||$724|
|Allstate Fire & Cas Ins Co||$636||$691||$1,769|
|Farmers Ins Co Inc||$454||$487||$1,051|
|Geico Cas Co||$268||$304||$800|
|Progressive Cas Ins Co||$390||$449||$1,303|
|State Farm Mut Auto Ins Co||$362||$435||$1,279|
Low cost auto insurance for Missouri drivers with recent accidents
Filing an accident claim means you are likely to pay more for your car insurance coverage. However, how much more you pay depends on several factors, and your car insurance company plays is one of those significant factors. Each company assesses risk differently, so that’s why the increase after an accident will vary among insurers. Here is how major carriers compare after at-fault accidents for the average Missouri driver with a full coverage policy:
|Company||1 At-fault property damage accident over $2K||2 At-fault property damage accident over $2k||At-fault bodily injury accident|
|Allied P&C PPCM||$1,744||$3,775||$1,744|
|Farmers Ins Co||$1,857||$2,234||$1,857|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,167||$1,779||$1,167|
Who has the cheapest Missouri car insurance for drivers with speeding tickets?
If you get a speeding ticket, chances are you’ll see an increase in what you pay for car insurance, upon your policy renewal. Typically, you’ll pay more for three years. But even with a traffic ticket, comparison shopping can save you money. For instance, you’ll see that the difference between the highest rate and the lowest in the table below is more than $806, on average, according to CarInsurance.com’s rate analysis. That’s how much you can save by comparing car insurance companies.
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,167|
|Allied P&C PPCM||$1,323|
|Farmers Ins Co||$1,687|
How much does it cost to add a teen to your policy in Missouri?
No matter where you live, adding a new driver to your family policy will hike your rate significantly. In Missouri, you can expect your rate to go up by an average of 131 percent when adding a driver age 16 to your coverage, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. You’ll see in the table below how much it costs, on average, to add a teen driver in Missouri, and how major insurers compare on price. GEICO Cas had the lowest auto insurance cost for adding a driver age 16 to a full coverage family policy, among insurers surveyed.
|Company||Average Rate||Average Rate after adding female teen||$ Increase (female)||Average Rate after adding male teen||$ Increase (male)|
|Allied P&C PPCM||$1,305||$2,174||$869||$2,606||$1,301|
|Farmers Ins Co||$1,412||$3,239||$1,827||$3,243||$1,830|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,096||$2,348||$1,251||$2,966||$1,869|
Cheapest Missouri auto insurance for young drivers: Ages 18 to 25
Enter an age from 18 to 25 to see who has the best rates for young drivers in Missouri, by company. You’ll see in the chart below which car insurance companies have the lowest rates for young drivers buying a full coverage policy. Average car insurance rates by age data shows that drivers typically pay higher rates until age 26, when rates begin to drop as drivers gain more experience on the road. But even young drivers can save money by comparing car insurance rates to see which company has the lowest rates, by qualifying for student discounts and by staying on their parents’ policy as long as possible.
Senior drivers: Cheap auto insurance for Missouri drivers age 65 to 85
Below you can see average rates by company for drivers age 65 and over, buying a full coverage policy. While comparing car insurance quotes is always one of the primary ways to save on coverage, you can also see if you qualify for a mature driver discount or if you can trim rates by taking a defensive driving course.
Car insurance for Missouri drivers with bad credit
Car insurance for drivers with bad credit costs significantly more than it does for those with good credit. Missouri ranks 21st among the worst states for drivers with bad credit, as CarInsurance.com’s data analysis shows. Compared to good credit drivers, those in Missouri with bad credit pay 71 percent more, on average. The good news is that you can still shave some money off your coverage costs if you compare car insurance companies. You’ll see below that the difference among major insurers is nearly $1,531 for a full coverage policy for a driver with bad credit. That’s how much you can potentially save by comparing car insurance quotes.
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,841|
|Allied P&C PPCM||$1,867|
|Farmers Ins Co||$2,565|
Best car insurance companies in Missouri
Scores are based on Insure.com’s “Best Insurance Companies” customer review survey of 3,700 customers. Policyholders ranked insurers on claims handling, customer service, value, mobile apps/website usefulness and were asked if they would renew their coverage and if they would recommend the company. All scores are out of 100.
|1||CSAA Insurance Group||93.43|
|7||The Auto Club Group (ACG) – AAA||87.21|
|8||Auto Club of Southern California (Auto Club Enterprise Insurance Group)||86.86|
Largest car insurance companies in Missouri
|Rank||Company||Premiums Written||Market Share|
|1||State Farm Group||937,742||24.06%|
|2||American Family Insurance Group||506,153||12.99%|
|3||Progressive Insurance Group||370,336||9.50%|
|4||Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies||256,156||6.57%|
|5||Berkshire Hathaway Insurance Group||253,457||6.50%|
|6||Farmers Insurance Group||219,419||5.63%|
|7||Allstate Insurance Group||163,137||4.19%|
Source: A.M. Best; State/Line (P/C Lines) – P/C, US; Data as of:November 28, 2018
Missouri Car Insurance Laws
|Roads||Number of Fatal Accidents|
A Missouri car insurance policy must include bodily injury liability limits of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. That stacks up well with other states. But $10,000 for property damage doesn’t; if you hit a newer car, that won’t pay for all the damage, exposing you to lawsuits.
If you have savings, a business or a home to protect, we recommend higher liability limits across the board.
Missouri also requires that you buy uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage to pay for treatment if you’re hit by a driver without insurance. It’s estimated that 14 percent of Missourians are driving without the required liability insurance.
Penalties for driving without insurance: Failure to show proof of insurance comes with a penalty of up to 15 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $300 and your license and registration may be suspended. The Missouri Driver License Bureau will also place the violation on your record and assess you four points (it takes eight points within an 18-month period to get your license suspended).
Pure comparative fault state: If insurers determine that both drivers are to blame in an accident, then your damages can be reduced by the percentage you’re found at fault. A pure comparative negligence law like Missouri’s allows both drivers to recover some payment. So, if you’re found to be 80 percent at fault, you could still recover 20 percent of your damages from the other party.
No grace period: A late payment may result in your policy being canceled. After the first 60 days of a policy, a Missouri auto insurance company cannot cancel your policy unless it finds that your license is suspended or revoked. The exception to the rule? If you failed to pay your premium. Your auto insurer can decide to non-renew you at the end of your term for other reasons, but must notify you at least 30 days before your policy’s expiration date.
Teen drivers in Missouri: In Missouri there’s no age restriction for owning and registering a vehicle, but to get an insurance policy, a parent or guardian needs to sign for a teen driver.
Proof of insurance via smartphone: Missouri is one of 31 states that allow drivers to show electronic proof of insurance during a traffic stop.
Two-point infractions: Among the infractions that can net you two points on your Missouri motor vehicle record are failure to keep right, squealing your tires, fishtailing, and texting while driving.
Average annual car insurance rates for major cities in Missouri
Below you’ll see how average annual rates for several of the largest cities in the state compare to state and national averages. Rates are for coverage of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident in liability and $50,000 of property damage coverage, with comprehensive and collision carrying a $500 deductible.