Las Vegas drivers pay by far the highest state car insurance rates in Nevada, with bills twice as high as they would pay in more remote parts of the state. Comparable rates for every ZIP code in Nevada are mapped below. To get an idea of what you can expect to pay -- and save by comparing car insurance rates -- enter your ZIP code and choose a coverage level and age group. You'll see the average car insurance rate for your area, as well as the highest and lowest rate fielded from up to six major insurers.
Nevada car insurance requirements
Nevada state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
RANK YOUR FAVORITE U.S. LICENSE PLATES
Nevada's license plate currently ranks
as the 18th most popular in the country!
What you need to know about car insurance in Nevada
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Nevada Car Insurance Laws
Nevada's liability insurance limits recently went up to reflect the higher cost of injuries and vehicle repairs. The limits are now $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident) for bodily injury and $20,000 for property damage -- written as 25/50/20. This is better protection than the previous limits of 15/30/10, but if you don't want to have to dig into your personal savings because your basic car insurance didn't give you enough protection buyer even higher limits is advisable.
We recommend raising those liability levels as you can; most experts consider 100/300/50 appropriate coverage for a family with a home and some savings.
While uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage must be offered to you, you can decline it if you believe your health insurance will be sufficient or if you're trying to save money on your policy.
Hang up: Nevada's law against handheld cell phone use and texting is among the nation's most stringent. While the first offense isn't considered a moving violation and thus doesn't hit your motor vehicle record or insurance, the second offense carries four points -- the same as for a conviction for doing 40 mph over the speed limit.
Usage-based insurance: Nevada allows auto insurance providers to offer usage-based insurance plans (pay as you drive) so that motorists can receive discounts. However, Nevada forbids auto insurers from using GPS technology to track the exact location of the user.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Nevada: Driving without insurance in Nevada, even for a temporary lapse in insurance, carries heavy penalties. You may be fined $600 to $1,000, your license and registration may be suspended, your plates confiscated and your car impounded. You may be required to file an SR-22 form.
Extraordinary life events: State laws permit Nevada car insurance companies to take into consideration your credit for eligibility (underwriting) and rating purposes. However, if you've experienced certain extraordinary life events (ELFs), Nevada law has been updated to allow you to request in writing that your credit information not be considered. The following circumstances are considered to be ELFs:
1. A catastrophic event, as declared by the state or federal government
2. Identity theft
3. Military deployment overseas
4. A serious illness or injury to you or an immediate family member
5. The death of a spouse, child or parent
6. Divorce or involuntary interruption of legally owed alimony or support payments
7. Temporary loss of employment for a period of three months or more, if it results from an involuntary termination
Largest car insurance companies for Nevada by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
CSAA Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Amer Family Insurance Group
Hartford Insurance Group
Source: A.M. Best market share Rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.