You’ll find Oregon’s cheapest state car insurance rates along the Interstate 5 in the southern part of the state, and the most expensive in Portland’s eastern suburbs. You can see how rates from six national insurance companies compare in every ZIP code in the map below. Enter your ZIP code, age group and coverage level to see what a policy costs in your neighborhood.
Oregon Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
- The average car insurance cost in Oregon is $124 per month or $1,496 a year for a full coverage policy.
- Geico & State Farm have the cheapest auto insurance in Oregon for state minimum policy.
- In Oregon, you can expect your rate to go up by an average of 161 percent when adding a driver age 16 to your coverage.
- Oregon ranks 34th among the worst states for drivers with bad credit.
- Cheap car insurance in Oregon
- Recommended car insurance coverage
- Cheapest car insurance in Oregon by company
- Low cost auto insurance for Oregon drivers with recent accidents
- Who has the cheapest Oregon car insurance for drivers with speeding tickets?
- How much does it cost to add a teen to your policy in Oregon?
- Cheapest Oregon auto insurance for young drivers: Ages 18 to 25
- Senior drivers: Cheap auto insurance for Oregon drivers age 65 to 85
- Car insurance for Oregon drivers with bad credit
- Best car insurance companies in Oregon
- Largest car insurance companies in Oregon
- Oregon Car Insurance Laws
- Average annual car insurance rates for major cities in Oregon
- Guide to car insurance (with rates) in cities of Oregon
Cheap car insurance in Oregon
Oregon car insurance requirements
|Minimum Coverage||Minimum Limit|
|Minimum bodily injury liability||$25,000/$50,000|
|Minimum property damage liability||$20,000|
|Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury||$25,000/$50,000|
|Personal injury protection||$15,000 limit|
|Coverage limits||Average annual rate|
|Liability Only – state minimum||$690|
|Liability Only – 50/100/50 BI/PD||$702|
|Full Coverage – 100/300/100 BI/PD $500 Comp/Collision deductible||$1,264|
Recommended car insurance coverage
The cheapest car insurance may not provide sufficient protection, so how much insurance should you buy? Bare-bones coverage may be a good choice if you have few assets or have an old car and don’t drive much. But if you have a home and investments, consider buying more insurance. If you don’t, you’re at risk for having your money and house taken to cover the cost of an accident. If you financed your car you will be required to get additional comprehensive and collision coverage.
Use our How Much Car Insurance Do You Need? tool to get a recommendation.
We recommend you buy more insurance than is required to legally drive a car in your state, especially if you have savings and assets. The more money you have, the more likely you are to be sued following a car accident should your insurance be insufficient to cover all the expenses. If your net worth is:
- less than $50,000, choose at least 50/100/50
- between $50,000 and $100,000, choose at least 100/300/100
- more than $100,000, choose at least 250/500/100
If you’re leasing or financing your car, you must get coverage of 100/300/100 or higher.
Collision and comprehensive
Collision coverage pays for damage to your car after an accident that you cause. Comprehensive insurance pays to replace stolen cars and for damages from vandalism, flooding, hail, fire and animal strikes. If your car is:
- less than 10 years old, you should strongly consider buying collision and comprehensive.
- more than 10 years old, only buy collision and comprehensive if your car is worth $3,000 or more, if you couldn’t afford to replace your car if it’s wrecked, or if you just want more protection on your policy.
For drivers in Oregon, collision costs an average of $443 yearly, comprehensive is $100, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. If you buy comp and collision, check our guide to choosing a deductible amount.
Medical coverage (MedPay)
Medical payments coverage can help pay for the medical or funeral expenses of covered drivers and passengers after an accident, regardless of fault, up to $25,000. In most states, including Texas, it’s an optional addition to your car insurance policy. MedPay does the following:
- Covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses
- Pays for expenses after health insurance limits are exceeded
- Offers additional protection to insured drivers who are hit by a car while walking or biking
If you and your passengers:
- Don’t have health insurance, or have a plan that doesn’t cover car accidents or has low limits, we recommend that you add medical coverage of at least $5,000 to your car insurance policy.
- Do have health insurance, it’s still a good idea to have medical coverage if you want the best protection in your policy, as it can pay out after your health benefits are maxed out.
If you don’t own your car outright and have an accident, gap insurance pays the difference between the cash value of your car and the current outstanding balance on your loan or lease.
- If you’re financing your car, your car is less than one year old and you’ve put less than 20 percent down on it, you should buy gap insurance. If not, you don’t need gap insurance.
- If you’re leasing your car, it’s a good idea to buy gap insurance if you aren’t already required to in your lease agreement.
- If you own your car outright, you don’t need gap insurance.
Cheapest car insurance in Oregon by company
Below you’ll see average annual rates for Oregon, ranked cheapest to most expensive, for three coverage levels:
- State minimum liability requirements
- Liability limits of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident and $50,000 property damage
- Liability of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident and $100,000 property damage, with comprehensive and collision at $500 deductible
|Company||State minimum average annual rate||50/100/50 average annual rate||100/300/100 average annual rate|
|Allstate Fire & Cas Ins Co||$920||$932||$1,656|
|Farmers Ins Co Of OR||$637||$646||$1,594|
|Geico Cas Co||$570||$540||$933|
|Nationwide Ins Co Of Amer||$680||$711||$1,121|
|Progressive Universal Ins Co||$858||$848||$1,238|
|State Farm Mut Auto Ins Co||$476||$537||$1,043|
Low cost auto insurance for Oregon drivers with recent accidents
Filing an accident claim means you are likely to pay more for your car insurance coverage. However, how much more you pay depends on several factors, and your car insurance company plays is one of those significant factors. Each company assesses risk differently, so that’s why the increase after an accident will vary among insurers. Here is how major carriers compare after at-fault accidents for the average Oregon driver with a full coverage policy:
|Company||1 At-fault property damage accident over $2K||2 At-fault property damage accident over $2k||At-fault bodily injury accident|
|Farmers Ins Co Of OR||$1,709||$2,088||$1,709|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,365||$1,971||$1,365|
Who has the cheapest Oregon car insurance for drivers with speeding tickets?
If you get a speeding ticket, chances are you’ll see an increase in what you pay for car insurance, upon your policy renewal. Typically, you’ll pay more for three years. But even with a traffic ticket, comparison shopping can save you money. For instance, you’ll see that the difference between the highest rate and the lowest in the table below is more than $1,248, on average, according to CarInsurance.com’s rate analysis. That’s how much you can save by comparing car insurance companies.
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,061|
|Farmers Ins Co Of OR||$1,536|
How much does it cost to add a teen to your policy in Oregon?
No matter where you live, adding a new driver to your family policy will hike your rate significantly. In Oregon, you can expect your rate to go up by an average of 161 percent when adding a driver age 16 to your coverage, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. You’ll see in the table below how much it costs, on average, to add a teen driver in Oregon, and how major insurers compare on price. GEICO General had the lowest auto insurance cost for adding a driver age 16 to a full coverage family policy, among insurers surveyed.
|Company||Average Rate||Average Rate after adding female teen||$ Increase (female)||Average Rate after adding male teen||$ Increase (male)|
|Farmers Ins Co Of OR||$1,227||$2,884||$1,657||$2,914||$1,687|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,061||$2,701||$1,640||$3,445||$2,384|
Cheapest Oregon auto insurance for young drivers: Ages 18 to 25
Enter an age from 18 to 25 to see who has the best rates for young drivers in Oregon, by company. You’ll see in the chart below which car insurance companies have the lowest rates for young drivers buying a full coverage policy. Average car insurance rates by age data shows that drivers typically pay higher rates until age 26, when rates begin to drop as drivers gain more experience on the road. But even young drivers can save money by comparing car insurance rates to see which company has the lowest rates, by qualifying for student discounts and by staying on their parents’ policy as long as possible.
Senior drivers: Cheap auto insurance for Oregon drivers age 65 to 85
Below you can see average rates by company for drivers age 65 and over, buying a full coverage policy. While comparing car insurance quotes is always one of the primary ways to save on coverage, you can also see if you qualify for a mature driver discount or if you can trim rates by taking a defensive driving course.
Car insurance for Oregon drivers with bad credit
Car insurance for drivers with bad credit costs significantly more than it does for those with good credit. Oregon ranks 34th among the worst states for drivers with bad credit, as CarInsurance.com’s data analysis shows. Compared to good credit drivers, those in Oregon with bad credit pay 66 percent more, on average. The good news is that you can still shave some money off your coverage costs if you compare car insurance companies. You’ll see below that the difference among major insurers is nearly $1,728 for a full coverage policy for a driver with bad credit. That’s how much you can potentially save by comparing car insurance quotes.
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,039|
|Farmers Ins Co Of OR||$2,314|
Best car insurance companies in Oregon
Scores are based on Insure.com’s “Best Insurance Companies” customer review survey of 3,700 customers. Policyholders ranked insurers on claims handling, customer service, value, mobile apps/website usefulness and were asked if they would renew their coverage and if they would recommend the company. All scores are out of 100.
|4||Auto Club of Southern California (Auto Club Enterprise Insurance Group)||88.18|
|12||CSAA Insurance Group||84.12|
Largest car insurance companies in Oregon
|Rank||Company||Premiums Written||Market Share|
|1||State Farm Group||620,489||21.28%|
|2||Progressive Insurance Group||370,678||12.71%|
|3||Farmers Insurance Group||275,252||9.44%|
|4||Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies||261,291||8.96%|
|5||Berkshire Hathaway Insurance Group||260,828||8.95%|
|6||Allstate Insurance Group||237,418||8.14%|
|8||American Family Insurance Group||91,870||3.15%|
Source: A.M. Best; State/Line (P/C Lines) – P/C, US; Data as of:November 28, 2018
Oregon Car Insurance Laws
|Roads||Number of Fatal Accidents|
|US-101 ODOT 9||21|
|SR-99 ODOT 91||16|
|US-97 ODOT 4||13|
|SR-99 ODOT 81||10|
|SR-140 ODOT 270||8|
|US-20 ODOT 7||7|
|US-20 ODOT 16||7|
|US-20 ODOT 33||6|
While not considered a no-fault state, Oregon requires motorists to purchase $15,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) as part of an Oregon auto insurance policy. Regardless of who was at fault in an auto accident, PIP takes care of (up to your limits):
- Reasonable medical expenses
- Loss of earnings of up to 70 percent of your wages, up to $3,000 a month for 52 weeks (beginning on day 14 of your disability)
- Help with household tasks of up to $20 a day for up to 52 weeks (beginning on the 14th day of your disability)
- Funeral expenses of up to $5,000
Besides PIP, an Oregon car insurance policy must also contain liability insurance: bodily injury liability of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident and $20,000 for property damage liability.
Uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist are both required as well. They help pay medical expenses arising out of injuries received in an auto accident where the at-fault driver was either without insurance or without adequate insurance coverage.
Pay-as-you-drive (PAYD) plans: Oregon not only has approved PAYD auto insurance plans, but encourages car insurance companies to offer such programs by offering tax credits for insurance companies that have a mile-based or time-based rating plan – since they reward people who drive less and thus reduce greenhouse gases, fuel consumption and of course accidents.
After an accident: You must file an accident and insurance report within 72 hours of an accident if it meets certain criteria. There are also certain rules to follow in Oregon if you hit an unattended vehicle or animal. If you hit an unoccupied vehicle and cannot find the owner, you must leave a note with contact information including your name and address. If you hit and injure an animal, you must stop and give reasonable attention to the animal depending on traffic hazards and the animal’s behavior, moving the animal from the road if possible. You must report the injuries to the animal’s owner or the police.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Oregon: You may be fined $130 to $1,000, your license and registration may be suspended, your car may be impounded and you may be required to file an SR-22 form.
No grace period: Any vehicle on Oregon roads needs to be currently insured, according to Oregon law. There is no grace period after buying a new vehicle when you’re allowed to be on the roads without insurance.
Electronic proof of insurance: Oregon allows drivers to show proof of insurance during a traffic stop on a smartphone. It is one of 31 states that does so.
Average annual car insurance rates for major cities in Oregon
Below you’ll see how average annual rates for several of the largest cities in the state compare to state and national averages. Rates are for coverage of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident in liability and $50,000 of property damage coverage, with comprehensive and collision carrying a $500 deductible.