Car insurance is expensive in Oklahoma, driven by high numbers of uninsured motorists and a high number of claims from hail and thunderstorms. The good news is that rates differ substantially from company to company -- and you can usually save hundreds by comparing. We display a sample of state car insurance rates in every Oklahoma ZIP code below. For an idea of what your coverage will cost, enter your ZIP code, age group and coverage level.
Oklahoma state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
What you need to know about car insurance in Oklahoma
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Oklahoma Car Insurance Laws
Oklahoma mandates that motorists purchase liability of $25,000 per person/$50,000 per incident for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage. This is written as 25/50/25; if you don't have much in savings or a home, it may be enough coverage. Other drivers should consider raising these limits.
Oklahoma is one of the more expensive states for car insurance, at least partly because it also has one of the highest rates of uninsured drivers. According to the Insurance Research Council, 26 percent of Oklahoma drivers are uninsured.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage is not required, but you must be offered the option. If you have good health insurance of your own that covers injuries from auto accidents, you can save money by declining uninsured motorist coverage.
Oklahoma also is pelted by hail more often than most states; if you don't have comprehensive coverage, you'll have to pay for repairs on your own.
Discount for driving course: Oklahoma mandates a three-year discount on auto insurance for drivers who successfully complete an approved accident-prevention course. However, the discount doesn't apply if you take the course as part of your penalty for a traffic violation or a DUI offense.
Online insurance check: The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety allows car owners to verify online that their auto insurance policy has been reported to the state's online insurance verification system. You'll need to have your vehicle's identification number (VIN), car insurance policy number and name of your Oklahoma car insurance company on hand.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Oklahoma: You may be fined up to $250, sentenced to 30 days in jail, have your license suspended, your plates confiscated and your car impounded.
Driving under the influence: A DUI in Oklahoma is considered a misdemeanor. You may be imprisoned for not less than 10 days and not more than one year, fined not more than $1,000, or both. A second DUI in a 10-year period is a felony, and you may be put in prison for not less than one year and not more than five years, and fined not more than $2,500.
Electronic proof of insurance: Oklahoma is one of 31 states that allow drivers to show proof of insurance during a traffic stop on a smartphone.
Largest car insurance companies for Oklahoma by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
OK Farm Bureau Group
Shelter Insurance Companies
CSAA Insurance Group
Source: A.M. Best market share Rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.