According to the Minnesota driver's manual operation of an uninsured motor vehicle can result in a revocation of license plates and registration for the vehicle. The operator's driving privileges may be revoked for up to one year. Anyone who is convicted of operating an uninsured vehicle may be fined up to $1,000 and sentenced to up to 90 days in jail.
Owners of motor vehicles driven on public roads in Minnesota must carry MN no-fault and liability insurance on their vehicles. Valid proof of insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times. Failure to provide proof of insurance at the request of a law enforcement officer may lead to revocation of your driver's license and vehicle registration.
When driving privileges are revoked for lack of insurance, the driver must pass a knowledge test; pay a $30 reinstatement fee in addition to fines levied by a court or citation; apply for a new driver's license; and submit an insurance certificate issued by the home office of the insurance company.
Minnesota Statute 169.791 discusses the criminal penalty for failure to produce proof of insurance. Here under subdivision 6 it mentions that the fine amount should not be less than $200.
For more information on the penalties associated with the offense of being an uninsured driver in Minnesota you can check with the local courts and / or Department of Public Safety.