An SR-22 is simply a car insurance company’s guarantee to the state that you're carrying the legally mandated coverage. This can be required if you're convicted of a driving-related charge -- usually a DUI, driving without insurance or reckless driving.
An SR-22 by itself doesn't raise your insurance rates. Rather, it's the conviction that triggered the requirement that causes your premiums to soar. Many motorists mistakenly believe the SR-22 is an actual type of car insurance, but that’s not the case. The SR-22 is simply a form that your car insurance company files on your behalf with the state.
The form, usually filed electronically, provides the state with proof of financial responsibility by showing that you have the required insurance coverage in effect. The state-mandated coverage may be the same as your state minimum liability requirements, or they may have higher limits. The exact auto insurance requirements differ by state.
You can only get your SR-22 from a car insurance company. The purpose of the form is to show that you've obtained, and will maintain, certain insurance coverage. There is no other way to get the SR-22; you can't get an SR-22 without buying a car insurance policy.
The SR-22 document must be filed with the state as certificate of financial responsibility to verify that you have the mandated insurance coverage and limits. Your insurer sends you a copy of the form to keep as proof of the SR-22. However, most states have it stored electronically in their records so that law enforcement or the Department of Motor Vehicles can look it up if needed.
To obtain a SR-22, you must go through an auto insurance company that offers the filing (not all do) and buy a policy with at least the minimum limits that the state notified to carry. Once you have the SR-22 filed, you’ll need to maintain the related insurance coverage for the state-mandated period of time. The time period varies, but most commonly it’s for three years.
A car insurance company filing the SR-22 form on your behalf may charge you a one-time filing fee of between $15 and $50 (typically, it’s $25). However, the cost of the auto insurance policy associated with the SR-22 varies.
An SR-22 filing with a DUI will hike your rates by an average of 89%, according to a CarInsurance.com analysis. But it could be as much as 375% or as little as 31%, depending on your state and other factors.
The car insurance policy associated with a SR-22 doesn’t have a set premium. It’s calculated according to standard rating factors, such as your driving record, your geographical location and the type of vehicle you drive. If your driving record shows that you're a risky driver, due to a major offense like a DUI, your rates will be higher, whether or not an SR-22 is required.
The only way to determine exactly how much your SR-22 car insurance policy will actually cost is to get a personalized car insurance quote. It pays to shop around; one insurance company may look at a DUI very differently than another, for example. However, the chart below shows the average car insurance cost by state for filing an SR-22 with one DUI, based on a CarInsurance.com rate analysis of up to six major insurers for 10 ZIP codes in each state. The base rate assumes full coverage for a 2017 Honda Accord.
|State||Average rate||SR-22 rate||Percent increase||Dollar increase|
All states except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania may require a driver to obtain an SR-22.
Some of the reasons your state may require an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility include, but aren’t limited to, the following:
- Failure to carry liability insurance on your vehicle
- Conviction for driving without insurance
- Driving uninsured and being involved in a motor vehicle accident
- DUI, DWI or other major alcohol offense convictions
- Serious moving violation (such as reckless driving) convictions
- Accumulating too many DMV points
- Being termed a habitual traffic offender
- Needing to apply for a hardship or probationary permit (while license is suspended)
- Reinstating your license after a suspension or revocation
To find out under what circumstances your specific state requires the SR-22, contact your department of motor vehicles.
In most states, you must carry the SR-22 for three years. The period varies from one to five years. In some places, the period varies by offense.
The start date for counting how long you must carry the SR-22 also varies by state. Your state’s department of motor vehicles will tell you how long you need to carry the SR-22 and from what date. The clock may start with the offense date, conviction date, suspension date or date of your driver’s license reinstatement.
Don’t cancel an SR-22 before your filing period is up or your state will penalize you. If car insurance associated with an SR-22 is removed or canceled, the insurer must file an SR-26 that informs the state of the cancellation. The state can then take actions against you that typically include the loss of your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration.
SR-22 insurance companies
Not all insurance companies file SR-22s. But the good news is that many major carriers are SR-22 insurance companies, meaning they will provide you with a policy and file the form with the state or legal entity on your behalf. This isn’t a complete list, but will give you a spring board if you are researching SR-22 insurance companies.
- The General
- State Farm
Getting cheap SR-22 insurance quotes
The best way to get cheap SR-22 insurance quotes is to do what you would to find a low-cost standard policy – compare car insurance quotes from multiple companies. If you are buying a new policy, be sure to ask if the company files SR-22 forms before you spend time getting a quote. Even though you’ll pay more for coverage attached to an SR-22, you can still save by comparison shopping.
Based on a rate analysis by CarInsurance.com’s experts, the cheapest companies, Farmers and Progressive, are about $1,200 less than the most expensive carrier.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost a month?
The monthly cost for SR-22 insurance ranges from about $115 to $215, based on staff research.
Below are SR-22 insurance quotes for a policy for a driver with a DUI broken down by company. You can see how much you can expect to pay, on average, for coverage with SR-22 requirements.
|Company||Average rate SR22 with DUI||Monthly rate SR22 with DUI|
Geico SR-22 versus Progressive SR-22
These two major carriers are close in price, with Progressive costing $120 less a year, based on our experts’ data analysis. Since the cost difference is relatively insignificant, if you already have a policy with one of these companies, it may be easier to stick with your existing coverage, and have the company file the SR-22 for you.
What is the difference between an SR-22 and a FR-44?
The FR-44 also provides proof of financial responsibility, but mandates that you carry higher liability limits. The FR-44 is used only in Florida and Virginia and is required instead of the SR-22 when you've been convicted of certain alcohol-related offenses. The FR-44 must be held for three years in these states, the same period such states require the SR-22 to be carried.
In Florida, FR-44 has bodily injury liability limits of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident and property damage liability limits of $50,000. This is written as 100/300/50. The Florida SR-22 has liability limits of only 10/20/10.
In Virginia, the FR-44 liability insurance limits are 50/100/40, which are double the limits required for a SR-22 filing (25/50/20).
Do I have to tell my insurer? How much insurance do I have to buy if I'm required to file for an SR-22 form?
Yes, you must tell your current insurance company about the need for the SR-22 so that it can file it for you. Even if you already have coverage that meets or exceeds state-mandated coverage, the state can still require you to file an SR-22. This allows the state to make certain you will maintain your car insurance coverage for the specified time period.
You can’t skip telling your insurer about the need for the SR-22, keep your current policy in place and then buy a separate policy for a SR-22. That type of duplicate car insurance coverage isn’t allowed. If your present insurer doesn't file SR-22s, you need to cancel your current policy and purchase a car insurance policy with an insurance company that will file the SR-22 for you.
You need to purchase insurance coverage that the state mandates. This requirement varies by state. It may be your state’s minimum liability coverage or higher liability coverage (especially if you need an FR-44 instead of an SR-22).
The car insurance coverage purchased that is associated with the SR-22 form will be rated according to all the factors that normally go into rating a policy, regardless of the SR-22 form filing. The rates don't depend on whether you are getting an SR-22.
Your driving record is a rating factor in auto insurance cost. The reason that you're required to acquire and maintain the SR-22, such as reinstating your license after a DUI suspension, may affect your rates; however, the SR-22 form itself doesn't beyond the filing fee. If your license was suspended due to a DUI or too many points, it will increase your liability insurance rates.
I’ve moved out of state. Do I still have to carry the SR-22?
If you carry an SR-22 in one state but move to another state, you must fulfill the SR-22 requirement for your former state, even though you no longer reside there. To do this, you usually need an insurance carrier authorized to do business and file SR-22s in both states.
Your car insurance policy in your new state must have coverage and limits that at least meet the SR-22 minimums required by your former state. If the new state’s requirements are higher, you will need those even higher limits on your policy.
If you're moving to a state that doesn't require SR-22s, you will need to discuss with the state requiring the SR-22 what you will need to do to comply with its SR-22 mandate.
If you don’t own a car, you can still be required to carry an SR-22. In that case, you'll need to get non-owner SR-22 insurance to fulfill your SR-22 filing requirement.
With a normal SR-22 policy, you own and insure a vehicle, but with a non-owner’s policy you don’t own a vehicle to insure directly or have access to a car that you can insure.
If you have a vehicle registered to you, one in your household, or someone provides a vehicle for your regular and frequent use, you should NOT purchase a non-owner policy for coverage. If none of these situations apply, you can get a non-owner policy that complies with your SR-22 filing requirement.
Currently, the best way to obtain a non-owner policy with an SR-22 filing is by contacting our call center toll-free at 1-855-430-7658. Our agents will help you obtain a quote for the coverage you need.
Most companies we work with can provide immediate proof of insurance via e-mail or fax. Processing of SR-22 requests depends mostly on whether your state accepts filings electronically.
If at any time during your policy period you purchase a car, you’ll need to alert your car insurance carrier immediately so that you can change your policy over to an owner’s policy. If you fail to inform your auto insurer of the change and you’re in an accident, then coverage under the non-owner’s policy may be denied.